Ludum Dare 31
Theme:
Entire Game on One Screen

Judging ends in:
It’s time to Play and Rate Games!

PlayRate80Star

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Kroc Le Vilain

by DrGeraud - Jam Entry

Here is our entry for the Ludum Dare 25 Jam : Kroc le Vilain !

Pitch :
"Kroc was an evil final Boss, but no hero came up to him
Then one day he decided to help the hero to finally kill him with his own fangs"

Gameplay :
It's kind of a rhythm game. You'll have to scare you're minions at the right time, in order to let the hero go further.

All of our work has been done during the jam (we started saturday afternoon).
Geraud de Courreges : Game design & programming
Antoine Druaux : Art, music & game design

Hope you'll enjoy it !

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Graphics(Jam)4.62
Coolness71%
#11Theme(Jam)4.13
#14Overall(Jam)3.89
#18Mood(Jam)3.82
#24Audio(Jam)3.78
#33Innovation(Jam)3.63
#34Fun(Jam)3.56
#38Humor(Jam)3.46

Comments

diggersworld says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:01pm

Really nicely polished. Good job.

MarekkPie says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:02am

Great job!

7Soul says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:52am

Cool concept and amazing art. +1 for the goats

robashton says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:32am

Very smooth, nice graphics and good gameplay idea

gre says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:55pm

This game deserves more votes and comments, it's awesome.
I like its originality, polished graphics and gameplay.
Good job.

DrGeraud says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:02pm

Thanks everyone for the cool comments !

Husky says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:07pm

The art is amazing!
I like the hand drawing style.
And it is so cute!

Ludonaut says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:50pm

Amazing art. Well done!

Andrey Pradun says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:27pm

Very nice game. Beautiful art ant interesting idea. But I'd like to have more then one life :)

Tobias Wehrum says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:35pm

A *very* cool game! The background story is really funny, and that is only enhanced by the cool sound effects and graphics. I love it watching how the minions get shocked by their boss screaming at them, then turn around and are all "WHAT" :D

I think the levels should be shorter or with checkpoints - or the difficulty curve should be flatter. I stopped in the middle of level 2 because it was a bit frustrating always to start at the beginning, and I think that's a pity because I would've loved to see the end and if there are any new enemies introduced later on. Are there? Please make a video for all us non-hardcore-gamers!

Bonus points for the cool music and the all-around polish!

This is not just a solid game, but a really fun one on top of it. Good job you two!

Nehmulos says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:39pm

That art is really amazing and I liked the idea of the Endboss helping the hero to finish him by himself.
It was a little bit hard, but very fun after I practiced the maps a little. This Ludum Dare has probably the most incompetent heroes ever.

Grouflon says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:58pm

Cute game :)

Pixelbear says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:01pm

Sweet game! Was incredibly polished, and had an interesting story (original! :D) and the gameplay was rather fun. Also, I always love to see picture-based instructions. :)

BlockBrains says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:06pm

Excellent game and concept! Congrats!

Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:06pm

Lovely. Thank you. I'm super jealous.

DrGeraud says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:13pm

YEAH !
So many great comments, thanks everyone. :D

Tobias --> Sorry for the level balancing, we were short of time and we adapted the difficulty to our own tastes. That was our big mistake.
And there isn't new enemies, we kept the sames for the 3 short levels we've made. Again, not enough time. :[

loren says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:14pm

pretty great idea, very unique! I really liked the art style

Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:38pm

Kudos, Geraud et Antoine!

GreenPixelDev says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 7:04pm

Great art and atmosphere! :D The gameplay is unique! Great job!

Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:05am

Nice work! love the graphics. Idea is a bit hard to understand without intructions though

Pierrec says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 3:32pm

Very good concept/story! This worth a full-stars theme!
Aside from that, the game is fun to play, but my computer/connexion is too slow so the sound is flickering a lot. I had to play mute. Too bad because the sounds were cool! (not your fault of course)

Dec 23, 2012 @ 8:59am

What a lovely game! This is well polished, thematic, funny... just beautiful!

I'm hard pressed to suggest anything to improve, other than perhaps the difficulty curve, which starts a little too easy and gets a little too hard a little too quickly.

Gungnir says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 3:47pm

Very good in the audio-visual department.

Jeremias says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 5:24pm

Very polished, fantastic visuals and... goats! The gameplay isn't something I like, but that's my personal taste ^^ I hope you will set this in a store!

caranha says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 5:35pm

Very cute game, with great sounds.
I liked how the goats and butterflies served to distract the player and cause some degree of risk-reward.

The web version didn't work for me, and the congregate version kept popping a "register at kongregate" dialogue box after I won the game :-(

Thanks for the great game!

ArkadyDracul says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 6:23pm

Great Art seriously

Mesene says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 9:36pm

Nice idea and mood, dumb heroes...

Mista Koo says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 9:38pm

Very good. My only complaint would be the hero's sprite just because it's only good as opposed to spectacular like the rest of the game :)

Milo says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 4:38am

This has impressively well polished assets and is an original concept. I feel like it needs a bit more challenge though - after figuring out the first level (which was difficult, but not excessively so), it was just the same thing two more times without much more of a challenge except one or two extra spots where there were a lot of enemies. Maybe some sort of puzzle element would help the game - like instead of just being about being scary in front of the hero at the right time, having to scare minions deeper in or something that requires a little more thought or movement.

Herku says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 11:57am

The art looks amazing. I like the gameplay allthough I had to restart very often ._. Well done!

iamorim says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 6:46pm

Great game! I loved to see how a rhythm style game can be used in a different way. Graphics and Audio are perfect! :)

DrGeraud says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 4:43pm

Thanks everyone for your great feedbacks !

We understand that we need to work on the difficulty curve and variety of the game if we want to improve it and propose a nice post jam version.

feili says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 12:42pm

excellent game! :D

brantkings says ...
Dec 31, 2012 @ 10:50pm

Outstanding. Had fun with this!

michax says ...
Jan 2, 2013 @ 8:57am

Wow, every part of this game is nicely polished. Good job guys!

azurenimbus says ...
Jan 8, 2013 @ 1:22am

Hahaha interesting new concept! Great execution!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]