December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

VampVille

by eraldo - Jam Entry

On a never ending quest to find more victims to draw blood from you search for shelters in VampVille.
Word of caution: sun lotion not included.. so spend you steps wisely durring daytime. Happy sucking.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#242Mood(Jam)2.50
#263Theme(Jam)2.64
#268Innovation(Jam)2.36
#276Graphics(Jam)2.40
#296Humor(Jam)1.50
#297Fun(Jam)2.07
#317Overall(Jam)2.07
#742Coolness46%

Comments

Joncom says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:45pm

I enjoyed your choice of color in the game. Very pastel.

raubana says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:43am

This game can't be run because main.py is missing. You should probably try to at least package the entire "Python27" folder with your project and create a .bat file that will run it. I had to do this for my game, unfortunately, because I couldn't get pyOpenGL to pack correctly with py2exe.

Saisaith says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:44am

Easy on the eyes!

ripter says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:42am

Traceback (most recent call last):
File "main.py", line 6, in <module>
import baseGame
File "/Users/****/Desktop/ld rating/LudumDare-master/ChaosOfTheWorld/src/core/baseGame.py", line 7, in <module>
import pygame
ImportError: No module named pygame

Amos Wenger says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:52am

A package for Windows at least would be nice. I wanted to test it but I'm not going to install all the dependencies by hand :(

Graf_Grun says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:04am

Try cxfreeze?

http://cx-freeze.sourceforge.net/

ahnt says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:27pm

Only the Source code?

TDRGames says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:32pm

Unpolished but I love the limited visibility stumbling-in-the-dark concept. Please port this to HTML5 Canvas and finish it! :)

Dependencies I needed on Fedora: yum install pygame PyOpenGL

Rex Peppers says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:44pm

Only included the source? No playable version?

radmars says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:47pm

Not playable? Just source?

MarekkPie says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:32pm

The game seems contingent on you randomly finding objects to help you along the way, with no real guidance on how to survive. Not very fun.

eraldo says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:21am

@all Sorry.. I had troubles creating some binary out of it. :|
@MarekkPie ..true.. we totally underestimated our time limit.
It was a great experience after all. :)
@Graf_Grun ..thank you for the hint.. I will have a look at that tool.
@Joncom Thank you.. colored pencils do have their own flavor. ;)

lorancou says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:26am

Source only... Can't you try to make a Windows package now that the dust has settled? See @raubana's comment.

dek says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 11:35am

I also like the color choice, looks smooth.

SiENcE says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:16pm

Please provide and executable game.

Norgg says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:27pm

Managed to get this running, would have been nice to have a packaged version though. Quite like the concept, though some of the maps generated seem to have been extremely hard to find my way to one shelter from the other.

sclark39 says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:35pm

I'd love to try this, but no Windows exe? :(

Jiddo says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 11:15am

I get the feeling that it was a good underlying idea, but the final product lacked some essentials.

I don't like the fact that you start the game without being able to see ANYTHING and that you had no idea what to do or where you need to go. I repeatedly ended up wandering around aimlessly until I died without having made any progress.

Once I managed to find two torches and some tile which seemed to reveal my surroundings, but I still had no idea what to do from there.

Finally I couldn't really figure out which tiles represented what. At first I thought that the dark gray ones were some kind of wall or something, but it turned out you can freely walk over them, so now I'm thinking they are a path? Red ones can not be traversed however. What are they?

Also, the menu is sort of half-way outside the screen on my machine. Perhaps due to resolution or my second monitor.

Running the game wasn't a problem tho. :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]