December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Bag Snatcher

by jamesca - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My First Entry!
With only a day and a bit available, and no dev workflow worked out yet, I decided to learn ActionScript and FlashPunk.

This is a game where you rob old grannies of their handbags, before they batter you to death.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#231Humor2.94
#308Theme3.32
#415Mood2.69
#433Fun2.71
#433Overall2.84
#464Graphics2.71
#517Audio1.83
#530Innovation2.51

Comments

syawqy says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:21pm

this pretty good,will be better if they pursue you after you steal their bags, just my suggestion...

jsmars says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:23pm

Good job! A bit hard to steal their bags and not loose health..

ParaPup says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:40pm

Hehe nice game.

jamesca says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:59pm

@syawqy Quite like that idea, would want some form of state machine and get them to tend their meanderings in the direction of you once they have been attacked.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:05pm

Nice! The sound can get a bit annoying imo, but I love the concept and you did a great job making it into a game :)

Volpes says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:21pm

That are some pretty hardcore grannies!

Zazibar says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:21pm

That sound got annoying really quickly. Interesting concept though. A visual indicator for when the spin was available would have been nice also.

jujule says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:21pm

Fun game. Fits the theme very well. Quite hard, though.

Manest says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:27pm

Fun but need more level and something to indicate you can use the bag again. It's look like 3 seconds inactive.

SunnyCode says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:30pm

didn't really know when i cuoild use the spin...

Suese says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:52am

It was cute. Good colours. Could have been improved if you zoomed in and scrolled the screen. Also if the animations were a little more exaggerated.

Blodyavenger says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:36pm

Haha, old ladies with funny voices .D I started to hate them because of their epic swing-bag-attack. I couldn't finish the game - last granny hit me to death. I liked the game but I felt bad because I don't think there is a efficient way to get granny without being hit at least once.

jamesca says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:12am

I can finish about 1 in 3 when I concentrate. Think like a villain, try and get as many at once as possible then it stops the annoying ooo's then run away and chill out, for much longer than you attacked for.

Per says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:58pm

I like those aggressive grannies :)
Very nice first LD entry

nilstastic says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 8:45am

Good: Good gameplay and if i was a kid would have played this endlessly =) (i was a kid in the 80's)
Improve: Another level would be cool, and perhaps slow grannies at first and then could speed up when their friends lost their bags? =)

scriptblocks says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 3:46am

Quite Hard. Thug Grannies

beeglebug says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 2:33pm

Too hard to snatch without getting hit. Maybe the spin radius should be bigger and more obvious, and the grannies should maybe move slower.

Bobrocket says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 4:32pm

i really enjoyed it, but i could never tell when i was spinning. possibly add an animation for it? and the sound gets annoying really fast.

Doublecaster says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 5:17pm

Oh god my ears. I had my volume little too high at the beginning. Anyway it was quite fun game.

azurenimbus says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 10:40pm

The screeching and the sound of when you hit combined created a little symphony that basically sounded like Stravinsky on crack. :D

Fun little game.

Spelchan says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 10:06pm

Not quite sure I understand what the spinning is about but managed to beat the game. Fun but the grannies are rather vicious and seem to move a lot faster than I remember my granny moving.

AdricZero says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 2:12pm

I could not figure out how to spin or avoid getting damage while trying to steal handbag.

Jan 7, 2013 @ 10:41pm

Sound makes it unplayable :/

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]