December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Colorful

by suve - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The post-compo version adds a save/load feature and a short tutorial. There are also a few minor bugfixes and small changes in the game rooms. Enemy behaviour is also randomized a little bit.

Based heavily on Hero Core, Colouful is a game where the player moves around a 2D world, fighting multiple enemies. With no gravity effects, all depends only on the player's speed. Collect the colour artifacts and bring them to your love!

Colourful tells the story of a man, who, not being able to cope with the depression of his beloved one, goes on a mission to make her world, once again... colorful.

Factsheet:
- language: Object Pascal
- compiler: Free Pascal Compiler
- IDE: Lazarus
- sound library: BASS
- event handling and gfx lib: SDL
- additional gfx lib: Sour
- graphics editor: GIMP, iDraw Chara Maker
- sound generator: sfxr
- map editor: vim

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#326Mood2.85
#338Graphics3.00
#393Fun2.79
#437Audio2.19
#474Overall2.79
#572Humor1.95
#591Innovation2.39
#718Theme2.07

Comments

SmallDeadGuy says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:13pm

Pretty fun. The colours are nice but I'm not a big fan of the minimalist style. At first I thought it was like VVVVVV but is it meant to be top-down? I couldn't tell if I was a floating ghost or what...

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:57pm

Is it possible to complete this? The hailstorm of bullets and as far as I can tell no HP recharging options stopped me in my tracks. Liked the intro story and I should award you the "It's not dead yet!" trophy for using Pascal. Word.

aare says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:51am

Wow, this game really catched the awesome reatro style. Good job!

RHY3756547 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:30am

Interesting, love the art style and how it's crazy hard!

iiAtlas says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:10am

Some others may not have liked the minimalist art style, but I loved it! Well done!

lando walters says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:51am

Really solid entry. I enjoyed the minnimalistic style as well.

schnerble says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:53pm

I got an error trying to run it on Linux (Ubuntu 12.04), unfortunately:

An unhandled exception occurred at $080852BC :
Exception : Could not load OpenGL from libGL.so.1
$080852BC
$080872E4

Maybe it requires a specific OpenGL version?

Sanguine says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:21pm

I liked the graphics of the game, but it was pretty hard.

h.attila says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:49pm

Liked the art style, but the game is punishingly hard, I quickly gave up.
The sound effects fit the style, but they are way too loud.
Also, I don't understand why I'm the villain in this story.

sev_inf says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:03pm

Too hard, but enjoyable

aare says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:58pm

When I rated your game I had no idea that you are "super vegeta" from warsztat.gd :P
What a suprise to meet a fellow student in a competition like this :D

HeyChinaski says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:11pm

Nice consistent graphical style. Very hard, particularly with the enemies respawning on re-entry to a room. Not sure how to open the doors?

Dec 22, 2012 @ 11:34am

I liked it. I was able to get the weird horseshoe shaped thing in the pink area, but wasn't able to make it back alive. Are you even able to beat this game yourself?

suve says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 12:41pm

Frankly, I personally find it too easy. :P

suve says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 1:18pm

I mean like, come on, this isn't even near being Nintendo Hard.

sPe says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 2:23pm

Connection to the theme seems a bit shallow to me, but I like the introduction story and retro graphics. The difference between moving and shooting directions can make combat a bit annoying at times.

Dec 26, 2012 @ 1:36am

cool! It's not too hard, come on :)) I'll be finishing this!

Biped says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 10:41am

Really good game. Loved the retro style.

Jeremias says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 1:21pm

Very hard game, but a lovely style. As I read what you did in the post-compo version... yeah :D the game jam games should always have some checkpoints for bad players like me.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]