Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Rainbow - ix - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Javascript/HTML5/WebGL game. Should work in Chrome and Firefox.

(c) 2012 Jim McCann / TCHOW

Contact info: http://tchow.com

View ix's journal. | View all entries by ix

Ratings

Innovation4.77
Coolness71%
#10Overall4.06
#24Fun3.79
#49Audio3.55
#78Mood3.44
#147Graphics3.58
#186Humor3.08
#553Theme2.76

Comments

singpolyma says ...
Dec 16, 2012 @ 10:51pm

This is awesome, but also really hard

boxerbomb says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:11am

I agree

ecool377 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:05am

awesome, but hard

cdata says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:05am

Hum, I can't seem to run the game. Looks like one of the sound files is timing out?

Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:13am

Very unique idea.

lekiy says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:14am

It's unfortunate that I can't give Innovation 6 stars...

Diventurer says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:26am

And life was never the same again... Fun game. :)

BNeutral says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:28am

Lovely concept!

davidwparker says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:29am

Super unique game. Love the use of shaders. And math. And awesomeness. Very cool.

Did you use any tools to help you design it (shaders, frameworks, etc?)

ix says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:50am

davidwparker,
No frameworks, but I did look at the webgl tutorial on mozilla's wiki for a basic intro (I think the URL is in the source code). And the javascript console in Chrome is really useful for (e.g.) figuring out how to control various elements by just typing in commands.
Really, this is the first big-ish thing I've done with javascript/HTML5, so it's all kind of a mess internally.

cdata,
try shift-reloading, and/or in a different tab. I've had this happen to me in Chrome and I'm not really sure what the cause is. (Out of curiosity: was this in Chrome or Firefox? Were you using the live version from tchow.com or the dead version from the zip file?)

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:56am

What a fiendishly clever game! :D Love the humour and art style aesthetic as well.

Hume says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:00pm

I'm going to hold off on rating this, because it looks like I need to play the crap out of it first.

BlockBrains says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:27pm

Looks super neat, great the idea and the gameplay is pretty fluid :D

AlexFili says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:51pm

Fun little game, it's really hard though!

Felix20 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:56pm

Great game, fun and audio was great. Graphics were also great but the level background and walls were bland.
Wouldn't run on Firefox 17 for some reason but worked in Chrome (Windows XP 32-bit)

Zanzlanz says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:53pm

Thought it was a cool game! It ran nicely and I didn't notice any flaws besides the flickering of the rainbow.

bitbof says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:34pm

I really like this one. Interesting gameplay mechanic, and awesome how unique the levels look after solving them.

bitbof says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:39pm

Also got to mention that I don't think this game is hard as people portrait it in the comments. I never got stuck.

dwrensha says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:49pm

Very pretty.

nolacoaster says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:31pm

Wut? Awesome. I love the game mechanics!

Hume says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:19am

Curse you, Dan.

Very polished presentation. When I was down to one frequency, the game was more line drawing than steering and I considered that it might work well on a tablet.

With a name like Dastardly Dan, I could imagine player piano music when Dastardly Dan's dastardly plan was introduced.

lur says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:43am

Very cool concept.

h8urf8 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:55am

Liked it. Cool concept.
Also I see where you're heading with the theme. But stil I don't really feel, as I'm the villain with my superfriendly rainbow. ;)

Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:56pm

Full marks for this one! Cheers, it made me feel excellent.

TheSheep says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:35pm

Fun to play, very addictive. :) I love it -- Makdaam

voidstar69 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:54pm

Great gameplay concept. Well done for dreaming this up, and bringing it to life.

chocobyte says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:28pm

great game!

Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:54pm

Uhh, that is a lovely mechanic!

schnerble says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:02am

Really nice work. Certainly the most original game I've tried so far. May stretch the definition of "villain" slightly, but that keeps it interesting ;)

Elisée says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:08am

That was fun! I managed to finish it, didn't make me rage quit but it wasn't too easy either. Really nice job.

Eelfroth says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:02am

Wow, nice mechanics. And the visuals are so trippy. :-)

Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:11am

very innovative and fun! also hard :))

MichaelJLong says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:12pm

Clever, I like it.

raincole says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:29pm

So cool so hard. Very innovative.

Per says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:34pm

Very impressed by the idea.
High innovation score from me!
You could add some more easy levels if you do a post-compo version!

Wan & Manu says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:28pm

I've fallen in love with this little gem, minimalistic yet really original and interesting to play.

It has a huge potential to be turned into an awesome smartphone/tablet game. Just add a few gameplay elements, clever level design and some more eye sugar, and you're good to go :)

quill18 says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:45pm

This game is screaming for an iOS/Android version. Sweeping a rainbow around with a finger would be fantastic.

pythong says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:39pm

such a nice game! loved the concept and the music!

alwaysinbeta says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:42pm

Got frustratingly hard quite quickly for me. Enjoyed playing though and found it refreshingly original. Please keep working on it.

Rex Peppers says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 3:10am

Couldn't get it to work on mac w/ chrome or safari

Tom 7 says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 5:40am

This was really good and a nice outlet for the melancholy that you were cultivating. :) I was impressed with the quality of the rainbow graphics given it was running in the browser and made a mental note to try out whatever you did some time. The art and music and story are great. I made it through several levels but when I came back to it in the morning the game was not responsive (maybe just a Chrome problem), so I still need to play through the whole thing. It desperately needs an undo function or some way to zoom in or slow down time, because most of the time when I lose it's just because I held the mouse button for 1ms too long in some tight situation. Really creative though, great overall.

nate427 says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:33pm

Really cool game mechanic!

leafo says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:36am

This is a great game. This is one of those games that I end up playing for way to long considering how many I want to rate.

great job. the audio is good too.

Benjamin says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:24pm

Wow, great dead ! I made mistakes many time by moving the wrong path. Maybe making the controlled lines twinkle, or glowing would help.

Milo says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 7:08pm

Wow! This is a really pretty game and a fun concept. I bet you could expand on it to make a really awesome puzzle.

Komradus says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 12:48am

Great game but really challenging.

aare says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 10:39am

This is easilly one of the most innovative and well executed games on this compo. Excellent job!

Zelen3d says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 11:41pm

This felt like toothpaste. I got stuck on the level with the 6 people in the two towers. Too hard. Also, the music gave a headache after some time.

Zelen3d says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 9:44pm

Oh, sorry for that comment. I've just realized how rude I must have sounded. Your game is the most innovative one I saw and one of the best executed.

Sestren says ...
Jan 2, 2013 @ 11:21pm

Great concept and some really neat puzzles to go with it. A little weak on theme, but still an awesome entry.

chrismwaite says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 12:23pm

Such a unique idea and lots of fun. Like others I found it very hard.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]