December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Nothal

by GSUIrregulars - Jam Entry

So, all our webspace hosts are down for maintence right now out of some sort of cosmic cruelty. So have a zip of a HTML5 game.

We bit off an idea a bit bigger then we could chew.
Have our tech demo and our music. Expect to see more in the future someday after the post-Ludum fallout.

Click on crewmen to interact with them. Smack them all to death before the timer ends to win.

This is really a game about how hard it is to click on small moving dots.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1189Coolness0%

Comments

Joncom says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:44pm

You weren't lying. I was not able to get this to run in Chrome.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:04pm

runs really choppy as well in firefox (on osx), can't really play :(

Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:06pm

Better luck next LD!

LeReveur says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:27pm

I absolutly don't understand what to do in this game.
But I uploaded it on my own webspace for you.
I hope that can help you to have more rates ?
You'll find it here :
http://www.xenedon.com/Gm/LD25/Nothal/nothal.html

LeReveur says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:31pm

Oh, OK, I catched it. It's pretty simple. I have to select each moving charcter and smash it until there's all dead.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 12:05am

Actually works fine in Safari and Chrome too (Mac OS X 10.8.2) well, just as "fine" as in Firefox.

I'd like to read some backstory on this one as the Jam should have provided ample time to move forward. The epic style music and um, interesting generated names (Alcatraz Weingarten?) show that you had some big plans but didn't get very far.

I'll search for posts by you guys. Better luck next time.

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Jan 2, 2013 @ 4:42am

That death sound is so grotesque xD...

dalbinblue says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 10:07pm

Definitely had the feeling you were intending something more grand. Hope to see you continue your work and post updates on LD.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]