December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

A Villain Monster

by gre - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Control the Villain Monster, catch humans with your tongue and eat them to survive.

---

The game has been implemented in CSS & HTML Canvas (Javascript) with the help of these libraries: jQuery, Backbone.js (+Underscore.js), Illuminated.js.

I wish I had more time to finish it, I wanted to port the basic collision system to a proper physic engine (using Box2d) and also to make the tongue behave like a "string" so it can be more realistic and fun.

My main achievement in this project was to make the graphics with Inkscape (not being a designer, I'm proud of my top-down walk sprites :-)).

This was my initial draft: https://twitter.com/greweb/status/279884502220812288

The game source code is available on Github http://github.com/gre/ld25 .

And is online on http://gre.github.com/ld25

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#162Graphics3.53
#210Theme3.55
#245Mood3.00
#316Fun2.93
#371Overall2.97
#392Humor2.42
#442Innovation2.68
#621Audio1.08
#948Coolness32%

Comments

Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:11am

that is some pretty nice lighting for a 48h web game!

ddionisio says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:35am

Almost killed my computer processing when I was switching between focus. Otherwise, great graphics and theme!

mrspeaker says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:31am

Great work mister!

iemfi says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:45pm

Was lagging a lot for me in chrome.

amassingham says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:30am

Love the lightning, and the frog-tongue mechanics.
Would love for some sound,and visual effects on consumption ( spitting out bones perhaps? or just a nice chomp )

Great entry though - Top down walk sprites are Harrrrrd.

dray says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:15pm

I really liked your game, i ate 41 people in 2:11. after 1min, the game become really laggy like 5fps, don't know why.
I like the style of the monster.

haxpor says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:53pm

I'm amazed with lighting + shadowing, that's the most interesting for me in this game.
Beside, I think if you can make the eating process looks more scary, all around feeling is much better.
Nice work though!!

loren says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:22pm

Delicious! really liked the style

Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:22am

great lighting!!!

Per says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:02pm

Nice game!
Cool lighting and the feeling of being really evil :)
Add some screams in the post compo version!

gnx says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:14pm

Very nice visual effects which unfortunately come with a huge performance penalty, I got around 9fps average.

Game mechanic is interesting and the controls do work quite well. Shame for the lack of audio.

Komradus says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:09am

Really nice lighting effects, it does glitch out and disappear in a few spots but usually comes back.

namuol says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:37am

Needless to say, love those shadows.

The tongue mechanic was unique -- I think it could have been more fun with some tweaks to how it animates and responds to your movement -- maybe make it feel a little more physical -- like have it shoot out, slow down near the end, then spring back. A simple sine wave motion would do the trick. Just a small suggestion!

joekinley says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:21pm

Man I had fun playing that. I kept eating people forever. And somehow I thought the thing would grow and grow, but I assume it shrinks then too, because I played for like 8 minutes and it should have been huge, but it felt staying the same.

The graphics are great, the fun playing it was hilarious. Boy I had a blast munching on them people. It was like playing catch. Like wakka wakka pacman style eating people. Funny concept.

Great humor and approach to the theme. I had a lot of fun. Sadly missing audio :/

Only that timer was weird, because sometimes i had like 98 and eating some people bashed me back to 40, then 28, then 41.... could not figure out what the deal was there.

Still, great work =)

Will Edwards says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 12:59pm

Very nice lighting, very atmospheric :)

Dir3kt says ...
Jan 1, 2013 @ 2:20pm

Cool game with a nice presentation. Played for a while but got repetitive sadly.

azurenimbus says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 2:49am

The game looks really good, and it's quite a bit of fun.

bugninja says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 9:58pm

The graphics were awesome, LOVED the shadow effect, very cool. Quite impressive.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]