December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Stop Him Now!

by TijmenTio - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My first Ludum Dare entry/participation!

SUMMARY
The notorious bird army of the evil Blackbird is being attacked by goody two shoes James Birdhunter. Command the bird army and make sure he doesn't win this game!

Fixed
- Fixed a minor graphical mistake
- Fixed the boss spawn
- Fixed the sound looping wrong

Post Compo :
- Added achievements
- Shortened max playtime
- Removed rocks
- Added two new birds
- Added option to pause by pressing 'P'
- Changed control scheme so that holding 'X'
is no longer needed
- Changed the action key from 'Z' to spacebar

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#87Audio3.35
#153Overall3.40
#157Innovation3.33
#182Fun3.23
#189Theme3.60
#282Humor2.76
#338Graphics3.00
#379Mood2.75

Comments

xbroak says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:57pm

Quite fun! although far far too long to play, and controls are confusing, i ended up just quitting.

Spierek says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:58pm

Sweet. My only complaint is related to those confusing controls, especially when it comes to flying upwards and switching birds. You did a nice job with the sounds.

hints says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:03pm

Switching birds confused me at first, but otherwise very fun.

Pixelbear says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:03pm

I enjoyed it! Took me a bit to grasp the controls, and it was a little too difficult. However, the graphics were very friendly, and the music was AWESOME. :D

jerrre says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:05pm

Took a while to find out what I was doing, you have to repeatedly press arrow keys in stead of holding them

SonnyBone says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:05pm

WHOA MAN!!!!! AAAAHHHHHHH!!! I can't get over how rad this is! I saw the screenshot and was NOT expecting it to be this fun. This friggin' game is a blast. The control scheme is a bit hard to get used to with the X holding, but I eventually made that stupid goody two shoes James Birdhunter go back to hell where he belongs! GREAT FRIGGIN' JOB!

Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:08pm

Love it!

goerp says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:14pm

although the music had a bug (after boss battle I got two melodies at the same time) I liked it very much! Real retro style. What did you use for the music?
I also liked the diversity of bird villains.

tumoxep says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:25pm

I was very impressed with Super James AI (he is a really tough guy to kill).
Music kicks ass.

ananasblau says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:19am

No sounds or music on mac? Fun game, tough but those heros tend to survive waves of much to weak enemies. An endboss would complete the game.

TijmenTio says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:57pm

There should be sound+music on mac, and there actually is an endboss, but due to lack of time I didn't get the conditions for his spawn right...

Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:12pm

One the only ones that you actually play as the villain. Cheers!

brantkings says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:18pm

Very fun game! Loved it! That was a neat idea. I would like an easier way to choose birds and less birds that do nothing at all but you can select them thus confusing you but that is fine. Good job!

naufr4g0 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:01pm

Great idea. I love the game concept and I would like a final boss, too! Anyway I've a lot of fun with it. :)

raincole says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:09pm

Works very smoothly. It's hard to believe that you completed in 2 days.

Meep says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:19pm

The hero's AI was very nice, and the sprites were cute. :) The gameplay was good, but I think left/right to switch between on-screen birds would have been easier. Very nice work though; I love it!

Volute says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:25pm

Very original concept !

jerombd says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:55pm

Good idea well executed; the graphics are okay (teh birds are very cute^^), but the controls are not easy to learn.
And the upbeat music is pretty catchy!

Alex Rose says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:03am

It took me a while to figure out how the controls worked, but after that it was pretty fun. I really enjoyed the red birds.

jfroco says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:35am

Nice gfx. Confusing controls at the beginning. Congrats.

Oreganik says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:25am

Hard, but seriously fun. And that music is epic. Greatly enjoyed it, thanks!

caranha says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:25pm

Wooooo, awesome game! I came here from Sonnybone's "rad roundup", and I was not disappointed! Great showing for your first ludum dares!

Let me give you some suggestions from my playthrough (some may already have been addressed in the post-compo version)

- There seems to be a bug when you kill James: Once you press Z to restart the game, the sounds gets all wonky. I think maybe the music may be playing twice at the same time.

- You need some sort of score. Probably "best time" would work best here.

Other than that, add some polish to the message screens, and you got a great game! By the way, what kind of AI does James use?

TijmenTio says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 4:38pm

Thanks! I made the AI myself just using collision checking functions.

caranha says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 2:25am

So is it just like a "reverse gravity"? or does it try to predict collisions? I'm asking because I really like the way that James moved - it felt really natural and smart, like if a player was really controlling him.

TijmenTio says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 1:23pm

Basically what I did is if there is an enemy on the same height/y he moves away vertically and if the enemy gets to close he also backs away horizontally, then if there isnt an enemy too close to him and he is at the edge of the screen, he tries to go back to the center of the screen a little more.

I hope this clarifies it ;)
You can also contact me via tijmentio@hotmail.com if you have further questions!

arhpositive says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 5:20pm

Nice game with solid gameplay. :) I had the same sound problems like everyone else, though. Overall, it's a really good entry. Addictive.

jujule says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 7:33pm

Olala ! So difficult ! But what a load of retro-sweetness packed into a good concept. Excellent work !

DaviDeMo says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 6:09pm

The music is not orignial, taking Turrican´s music and changing it is not fair.

csanyk says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 9:34pm

I couldn't figure out the controls, despite the on-screen instructions, when I tried to follow them it didn't seem like I was controlling anything. So, it was basically unplayable.

On the plus side, the music was pretty cool.

blob says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 9:41am

Using Chris Huelsbeck's Turrican music and post this as a 48h compo game is not the rules, but the game is quite fun nonetheless.

ArkadyDracul says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 10:24am

Cute graphics, but annoying gameplay, at some point it become an arrows and Z spammer.

kibertoad says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 5:22pm

Controls were very clunky and graphics was meh, but great game concept :).

rvmook says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 7:44pm

Nice game cool art and great music. Too bad you didn't got the time to fix the loop bug. Like others already said the switching is somewhat confusing but the idea is still really cool. It would be nice to be able to choose the spawns. I really enjoyed it!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]