December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Heist!

by vociferocity - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Heist!: a game wherein you steal valuables from a museum in the dead of night, right under the nose of a vigilant security guard. Or a game wherein you're caught, embarrassingly, fifteen seconds into your first theft, and go to jail for life. It's up to you!

Instructions: hold down the left mouse button to move towards the treasure, but don't let the security guard see you! when you let go of the mouse, you'll be instantly disguised, so just don't move while she's looking at you. there are five things for you to steal, but your time is running out! good luck, and have fun :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#32Mood3.78
#47Graphics4.10
#80Humor3.50
#183Theme3.62
#238Fun3.10
#254Overall3.19
#301Innovation3.00
#412Audio2.26
#867Coolness39%

Comments

Dec 16, 2012 @ 5:55pm

Aww, this is cute! Took me a while to figure out what to do though. Still fun!

vociferocity says ...
Dec 16, 2012 @ 10:24pm

I went for a concise help page, but maybe...too concise? haha, sorry about that! thanks for playing, though :)

Felix20 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:24am

It was a fun little game, the noise got a little confusing at times tough.
The graphics are good.
It could have used some sort of ending.

ilo says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:44am

I was clicking rapidly instead of holding at first, and then wondering why I could only get to the second room, he he he.

I think the mechanic works really well, creating tension between running out of time versus getting caught.

Also, I can't decide whether it would be better if there was a split second bit of feedback before the security guard turns around. Part of the fun is not knowing. :)

64Mega says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:42am

Nicely done. Reminds me of that game I used to play with my friends at school. Red Light, I believe. The only thing that threw me off a bit was the way the player character slid along the ground, but otherwise, I liked the art style.

saguaro says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:59am

I love the graphics.

zatyka says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:10am

Cute graphics. I found the game a little too simple. I would have liked some indicator that the guard was going to turn around... even a subtle one.

MvT says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:45am

Cute graphics. :)

AyCe says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:53pm

Nice graphics, cool idea and this "I hope she doesn't turn around just now...". Great! :D

Eniko says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 7:58am

Really funny entry, with very charming art. I enjoyed it, even though the gameplay is simple. :) Especially liked how you can disguise yourself as the guard.

fishbrain says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 10:31am

Victory! :) I WON!...
Very nice graphics and visual style. Nice idea. Would have liked something to gauge when the security guard was thinking of turning around.

Dec 27, 2012 @ 4:38pm

Cute game and a simple mechanic. It's brief, but a nice little experience. Simple audio, but high marks anyway. :)

Houly says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 11:19pm

Cute graphics and nice mechanics. Would be great to play it with the space bar or any other key on the keyboard.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]