December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

The Tim Thomery Extravaganza!!!

by ElliotCollis - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Play as the villain Tom Thomery. Try to kidnap the Damsel and get her to the train tracks, just in time for the train!

As the villain you start off going right to left, and changes once you kidnap the Damsel.

I used Unity, and Photoshop for everything.
Controls are space to jump and wasd or arrows to move.
I didn't have enough time to make any music, but decided that a silent move worked in with the theme.
Although a Saloon piano would be nice.

This is my first entry into Ludum Dare, I hope you all enjoy my game!!!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#80Graphics3.87
#170Mood3.19
#204Humor3.00
#404Fun2.77
#406Overall2.90
#431Theme3.07
#624Audio1.07
#691Innovation2.10

Comments

eShredder says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:13am

Not being able to see bellow the player felt dangerous when I was supposed to jump down to something.

patricklorio says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:16am

The tutorial slides looked awesome and the graphic style was fun. The major issue is that I had to take too many leaps of faith and I didn't know where I was or where I was supposed to go.

dek says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:21am

Hi! Nice platformer. The graphics are cute. A bit blurry maybe, but nonetheless they fit. The postprocessing is a plus, giving it a quite unique look. I felt that the controls were a bit sloppy, raising the difficulty of the game. I could not finished. I got to the moving platforms, which bugged for me. They did not move me at all. Try adding their movement vector to the players. Sadly there was no audio, which could have helped giving a better vibe (old camera rolling sound for example :D). My main concern with this game is the view distance though. There are points where you do not see the next platform. The screen is pretty small compared to the tiles, they are huge. Jumping into the void is not fun. All in all a good game though :)

jsmars says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:20pm

Nice graphics and feel! Would be nice to see farther to get a better idea of where to go, and some sound would be nice :)

bentog says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:19pm

Great game! I've never seen an almost-2D game o unity. Too bad there's no audio. Also, it would be great if the player moved along the moving platforms. Good job!

mikemacdee says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:26am

too many "leaps of faith" for my liking, and tragically lacking a good "silent film" score. looks awesome though.

diggersworld says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:38pm

Liked the look of it. Felt that the viewport was a bit limiting though as you couldn't tell what was around you very easily.

Xavier says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 6:47am

Love the silent old movie look, but it's really bad there's no audio or sound effect.

sPe says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 10:41am

Very stylish and kind of solid game. But some unfair passages and missing sound is a pity.

CireNeikual says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 9:48pm

Nice graphics style! There were a lot of leaps of faith though.

csanyk says ...
Dec 31, 2012 @ 2:55am

Pretty awesome. Difficult platforming due to not being able to see very far in order to plan your jumps. This game ACHES for a player piano soundtrack. Could really be awesome if you continue to develop it.

ElliotCollis says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 2:28pm

Thanks everyone for the feedback!
Yeah it is sad I couldn't get a soundtrack in or sfx before submitting, and the bug with the platforms is a bit of a pain.
I'm definitively going to make a post comp version, and pull the camera back, and fix the leaps of faith and moving platforms. Also adding the player piano soundtrack is a must!
I'm really happy so many people have enjoyed my little game! I'm look forward to the next LD!

MortalWombat says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 2:51pm

A very nice first entry!

As so many others have said already, the level design is unfair a lot of times. You should really redo that to see and feel the difference.

Jan 6, 2013 @ 9:49am

Nice work on the artstyle - this would be perfect with a ragtime-piano

jfroco says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 2:23pm

Congrats for your first entry. It's sad that you didn't have time for adding music... that would have been great. Nice gfx. But level design could improve.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]