About | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post
Construction1990’s Internet Montage? No!
Please excuse the site weirdness. Mike is fixing and making things.
Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014!

  • ??? Begins: in 10 days, 1 hour, 2 minutes, 9 seconds
  • October Ends: in 11 days, 1 hour, 14 minutes, 9 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 46 days, 2 hours, 2 minutes, 9 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)

    [ October Challenge 2014 | Resources | Submit/Edit | View All ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    The Quite Annoying League - Pierrec - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Being annoying is easy. It's accessible to everyone.
    Being quite annoying on the other hand is a real challenge.
    You need to strongly bother your victims, but just not enough to allow them to reproach you anything.
    Only those who can maintain this perfect balance might be admitted in the Quite Annoying League!
    Those are the worse villains!

    -------------------------------------------------------

    I took the train just before working on my game...it was quite inspiring.


    I know the recurrent ending scenes could be quite annoying but eh...I might want to join the league.


    Disclaimer : I did all the audio except the train background sound which is from freesound.org. I'm not sure it is allowed so...take it in consideration while rating the Audio category.

    View Pierrec's journal. | View all entries by Pierrec

    Ratings

    Coolness100%
    Humor4.57
    #9Theme4.36
    #12Overall4.05
    #29Fun3.76
    #45Mood3.65
    #71Graphics3.93
    #129Innovation3.44
    #167Audio3.02

    Comments

    feili says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:54pm

    that was annoying, and fun. I liked it, small talk can talk, good job! :D

    Agamgad says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:19pm

    Pierre ! You did great job actually !! Was nice meeting you !

    Pierrec says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:18pm

    You played it already ?! Woah! You're fast!
    Thanks for the nice words. I just uploaded a new version with some small typos corrections (I believe this is OK).

    ParaPup says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:02pm

    Nice job on the game keep going :3

    BlockBrains says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:38pm

    That was pretty fun :D I swear i laughed out loud when the baby appeared! Cool hat!

    Mythalore says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:16pm

    Very nice, strangely funny! It's really refreshing to see a non-combat game!

    Geoege says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:09pm

    Really nice game Pierre, i laught a lot, graphics were really cool.
    Like your humour. :)

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:32pm

    Nice one!

    You're getting better at effectively conveying story and humor. I especially love the Naked-Gun-Style-gags, that are just there, and nobody notices :D

    Mava says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:54pm

    A nice and funny game!

    tomvert says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:08pm

    Haha the backseat kicker made me laugh hard!
    Excellent game, actually funny. Great sense of humour. Very clever.

    Norgg says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:35am

    So, the game was good but the meta-game where parts of the game are quite annoying (like back-kicker puzzle and looping the game over dialog with some small enforce pauses in), but not quite annoying enough to make you give up is goddamn genius.

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:47am

    Awesome.

    I laughed. I haven't laughed while playing a video games for ages. This rock !

    dom2d says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:36am

    Awesome! Had tons of fun with this one !

    Niavlys says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:03pm

    Wow, instant 5 stars in Humor, I loved it! As I already said, the graphics are great, I wish I could do that. You're a true pixel-artist! :) Excellent view on the theme, nice audio too.

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:46pm

    It's not working, don't know why. I launch it and then it freeze on 2nd screen...Same for your previous game.

    Pierrec says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:33pm

    I'm sorry AnnaGavaldaKedavra, it seems it's a recurrent problem with AGS games. Sometimes, it works when you change the settings in the Winsetup file. I know changing to "Direct3D 9" and "run windowed" made it work on a Windows7x64bit.

    Pitoum says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:13pm

    Pierrec is still Pierrec. Great game again! I'm so jealous of your writing!

    RHY3756547 says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:32pm

    Really funny! Fantastic job.

    Tavrox says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:08pm

    "Ouin je suis un bébé, Ouin je suis un bébé" really deserves 5 stars for great humor :D !
    I'm not fond of these text-adventure games and i think the random "2 sentences on 3 will make you loose" is quite annoying :/ Just not my favorite gameplay. But the mood and story really deserves good rating ;)

    Tavrox says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:10pm

    Being able to play "the people who annoy you in the train" is just great :p

    ilo says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:53pm

    Really funny and terrific interpretation of the theme. :)

    jerombd says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:04pm

    It's really a pleasure to see a new game made by Pierrec: this one is fun, with original characters/situations/writing... like the previous ones!
    Each time I begin one of your game, each time I'm certain to have a good time playing this new gem^^

    Noyb says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:30am

    Aaah, this is great! Could cut back a bit on repetition upon failure (clicking through the boss' speeches, repeating the setup of each scene).

    allinlabs says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:25pm

    This game is absurdly fun, pretty, hilarious and enjoyable from the start to the end! Feels like breath of fresh air.

    Volute says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:25pm

    Very fun ! great plotline !

    BNeutral says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:44pm

    Great as always.

    azurenimbus says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:14am

    ...This is really, really good.

    You would NOT be annoyed by my ratings.

    Dec 20, 2012 @ 5:19am

    Brilliant! It was a bit annoying to retry a scene (watching the ending and the scene intro every time without a skip or something) but I truly loved the idea and the execution. One of the best entries I've played so far. Kudos!

    Benjamin says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:06pm

    Pierrec, you could make money by making a 3-Answer mobile App for all the guy that try to pick up girl in trains.

    Great game and fantastic humour, sometime making me think to Terry Pratchet.

    fishbrain says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 2:38pm

    LOLOL!

    DaviDeMo says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 2:45pm

    O.EM-GI! This game is beautiful!

    caranha says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 3:00pm

    That was villanous. That small talk guy was awesome :-)

    Like always, I love your spritework. This game was quite fun, and the dialogue was great.

    It would be cool if more scenes had more than one way to finish them.

    Thanks for the game!

    arhpositive says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:55pm

    This was a creative and funny idea. :) The dialog was written so well. :) Overall it's a great game!

    Edocentrique says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 5:38pm

    Excellent !

    pfirsich says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 11:26pm

    Perfect.

    naughtyloose says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 6:08pm

    that was fucking awesome!

    Dec 23, 2012 @ 5:30am

    I love this entry. I think the only thing that "annoyed" me here was the back seat kicker's stage. It wasn't quite clear what I had to do, and his intro animation was a bit long to have to watch repeatedly.

    Otherwise, this was great! They epicly failed to annoy me.

    Carduus says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 8:52am

    I canot run it on may WIn 7.
    AM stuck on "enter title screen" T_T

    Pierrec says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 10:42am

    Try changing the settings in the Winsetup file. I know changing to "Direct3D 9" and "run windowed" made it work on a Windows7x64bit.

    Dec 23, 2012 @ 6:33pm

    This is an amazing amount of content for under 48 hours. I'm impressed. There appears to be a novel's worth of dialog in here, too. Amazing work. If you can do this so quickly you should get into doing a web-series and you'd have a bigger franchise than Penny Arcade.

    I'm not worthy.

    kannas says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 7:48pm

    ok. simply speaking? the game is epic! xD the kid voice is epic! everythink is vaguely epic!!

    MrEvilGuy says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 10:33am

    Superb. The headphones prank was my favourite. I swear people do that to me in the library on purpose...

    kibertoad says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 8:18pm

    Excellent writing, innovative setting, great fun! I salute you.

    marudziik says ...
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 3:40pm

    Perfect entry, and I managed to annoy Ms. Twist quite well. :) I also saw the exploding head ending, and had so much fun, that I will probably show this to my non-LD friends.
    Great use of AGS, as always. Very high ratings, and well earned!

    Van Merwan says ...
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 3:22pm

    Masterpiece.
    Take my money.

    BrothersT says ...
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 6:31pm

    Great game Pierrec :)

    saguaro says ...
    Dec 30, 2012 @ 2:47pm

    Very funny, though it took me quite a few tries to deliver the appropriate level of annoyance. Great game.

    csanyk says ...
    Jan 2, 2013 @ 12:20am

    I liked the humor and mood on this one. The sound effects on the train, too.

    Zed says ...
    Jan 3, 2013 @ 11:33am

    That was actually THE best game I've ever played. I particularly liked how restarting each scene could get quite annoying. Very meta.

    ddionisio says ...
    Jan 5, 2013 @ 2:35am

    This game is brilliant, clever mechanics and quite humorous dialog!

    mcc says ...
    Jan 5, 2013 @ 7:42am

    this was really cute!

    JaJ says ...
    Jan 6, 2013 @ 11:58am

    I don't think I actually gave five stars for theme this LD yet. I guess I saved them for this game. I had a lot of fun too.

    jfroco says ...
    Jan 7, 2013 @ 2:38pm

    Not my type of game, but it looks and feels polished, original and very smart. Gfx are great. Congratulations.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]