December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Granny's Gummies

by tim_u - 48 Hour Compo Entry

-Click the window to Start.

-Feed Candy with the buttons on the left.

-Going above a sugar level of 25 will cause that kid to crash.

Be a villainous Grandparent by undoing the relaxing date night your kid and their spouse are enjoying. Feed the grand-kids massive amounts of candy and watch the destruction mount. Be careful though. Too much candy will cause a SUGAR CRASH, draining a kid's energy and rendering them temporarily harmless.

Note: No goats, just kids ;)

Tested mostly on Chrome.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#204Humor3.00
#421Innovation2.72
#525Theme2.83
#715Mood1.83
#715Fun1.90
#734Overall2.11
#756Graphics1.46

Comments

Meep says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:29am

Very neat idea; was fun to watch how they reacted to changing sugar levels. Could probably expand the idea further. :)

Cy4n1d says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:50am

The idea is nice and a little bit strange. :-)

infernet89 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:53am

LoL, funny idea! But, in fact, there is no really big gameplay at the moment.. I just clicked those "Give Candy" buttons repeatly stopping at 24 sugar level.. The rest it's just sit down and watch the damage.

xgeovanni says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:54am

Nice idea, but I feel poorly implemented in the time.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:59am

$104 damage!

So I the game feels rather abstract for it's theme; felt a bit isolated from the idea by lack of sounds/visuals of things getting wrecked etc.

It's a nice idea though, and the first time I sent a kid into sugar crash gave me a big grin.

svenardo says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:18am

Kudos for simulating real life ;D

Idovoodoo says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:28pm

Haha, Sugar crash! Neat idea.

Diventurer says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:58am

Sorry, but I did not find this enjoyable. I'll give you a little boost on the humour though. :)

Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:12am

I feel like i was too busy watching numbers to actually pay any attention to the visuals, perhaps having the sugar levels of the kids being purely visual rather than written would be better (like their colour maybe)

Mezzomatto says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:53am

Hilarious! I was cacking myself before I even started. DAMNIT MUM STOP GIVING THE KIDS CANDY! I enjoyed watching them literally 'bouncing off the walls'.

bigbadwofl says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:36am

Poor granny. I liked the idea of manipulating children with candy to destroy an elderly woman's home. Wait, that sounds horrible.

mcc says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:01am

pretty original idea, but i agree with what infernet89 said

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:03pm

Very cool idea, nicely implemented. I think it would've benefited from a few fx (just simple chip fx made on that free sound maker website often linked on LD) every time they bounce off a wall?

hypp says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 5:16pm

Interesting idea, nice concept!

fishbrain says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 10:48am

Interesting and innovative idea.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]