December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Villanus Haerfest

by LenardG - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Here is my little puzzle game. I interpreted "Villain" to mean "farmhand", which is the origin of the word - look it up in wikipedia, the relevant entry is available on the game page. You are the Villain and you must reap crops by order of your king. Watch the introduction.

I included some hints (hidden initially).

I tested with IE8/IE10, Google Chrome and Firefox. Chrome is recommended, but it should work with the other browsers as well. Sorry, there is no load indicator, so if something seems off (particularly the sound) it might just be delayed. :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#145Fun3.32
#173Humor3.11
#259Overall3.18
#282Audio2.67
#361Mood2.78
#383Theme3.18
#434Graphics2.77
#523Innovation2.52
#831Coolness41%

Comments

Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:39am

Holy smokes this makes me want to play Ultima V.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:40am

I really liked the goats.

uuav says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:41am

Ahah best implementaion of the goat so far !

apophenia says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:42am

Enjoyed this a lot. Will probably come back later to finish all the levels. Nice goat cameo!

SimianLogic says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:49am

Nice interpretation of the theme. The puzzles are pretty easy, though!

LenardG says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:40am

Yes, I had some inspiration from Ultima V for the tiles. I really liked that game :)

I realized too that the levels aren't too difficult. Maybe I will expand the game post-LD :)

svenardo says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:30am

Fun game! Agreed with the other commenters. Make more and harder levels :=)

h.attila says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:23am

Great interpretation of the theme!
The presentation is also really nice, the tiles are drawn well.
The game is pretty easy though, and it gets repetitive fast.

Manest says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:28pm

Love it!

joekinley says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:13pm

I had a blast with this game. It was fun and I got to the 17th level before dying. I see it as an accomplishment as there were no more wizards or cows or goats in there anymore.

Good work with the game, it was a lot of fun. Congratulations on finishing.

Husky says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:10am

Fun and humor lol!!

Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:04pm

Good use of the goat.

Jiggawatt says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 5:33pm

Yeah, it's pretty easy and basic. You should've at least done more with the gnome/goat mechanic, as once you've realized what they do, you have no incentive to talk to them again.

raincole says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 12:37pm

Nice, but I don't feel me like a villain.

Yacodo says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 1:55pm

Oh... the goat :) Nice one, need more levels.

azurenimbus says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 8:57pm

Nice take on the theme, good job on the level design and, of course, the goats.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]