December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Superhero Slaugther

by joyboxed - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Controls : Left / Right: A / D - Jump: Space - Punch: I - Dynamite : o

The basic idea is that you trick the superhero into destroying the city so the citizens get pissed of, but I had to rush it, so I couldnt create a lot of content (even though the levels are procedual generated ones). This was my first GameJam and definitly not my last, next time though I try to keep the features more limited ^^

Edit :
Known issues:
- unskipable intro
- stickmans are only placeholders but couldnt add more content
- lack of usability and fun

PS: I really dont know how I came up with the name, only thing I know is I wanna sleep =D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#132Theme3.74
#310Humor2.70
#386Innovation2.81
#523Mood2.48
#545Audio1.62
#570Fun2.38
#572Overall2.62
#658Graphics2.12

Comments

FireSlash says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:58am

I died and had to listen to the dialogue again, can't seem to skip it :C

RylandAlmanza says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:29am

Awesome! I really like the concept of making the hero do your dirty work!

svenardo says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:29am

Funny concept and rock hard. I like that :D

Fireblend says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:34am

The introduction dialogue is a bit tedious like FireSlash said, but I definitely like both the style and the concept! A little bit hard, too! Nice entry :D

vrav says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:51am

Tricking superheroes into becoming villains in the eyes of the public is a grand idea. Would love to see that expanded upon in a bigger game. Also, I wish I could skip the intro text...!

Amadeus says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:51am

The game is interesting, but is lacking in fun factor. The comments that the background stickmen make are pretty funny though. Lots of usability issues but it's functional and a great first entry.

cardboard says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:58am

The concept is great. The game was fun, and I like the artwork, although I am not really a fan of stick figures, but Mr. Rock and his attacks looks nice. Great job :-)

ChainedLupine says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:08am

Unskippable intro really did make it a bit tedious to play this game, especially since it was easy to die at the beginning.

Glad you finished you first LD48 though!

vids says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:13am

Dialogue is a bit lengthy if you're dying often. But nice concept!

jmk says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:41am

(I could've sworn that I rated this already, but maybe I forgot to hit Save ...)

Great job on your first game! I especially liked that the game didn't explicitly tell you how to win.

Lidfrid says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:32am

Wanted so hard to skip the dialogue -.-

dek says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:27pm

I like the concept and movement, as well as procedural generation :) I had the problem that mister rock always appears. No matter If I commit a crime or not. He just fucks my day up, no matter what :( Funny game though :D

Sergey Mohov says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:38pm

I like the idea of tricking a hero into destroying the town, it has something to it. Also, I like your stick figure animations :-)

wzl says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:05pm

Nice twist on the villain theme. Love the character animations, but i have something to add to your issues: What's up with the control scheme? :P Good work anyways \o

Here's my mini review: http://ldmr.wzl.vg/#joyboxed
If you want your name to link someplace, let me know :)

Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:33pm

Not being able to skip the dialogue is a problem, but the premise of the game is genius.

fr_automatik says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:40pm

The unskippable intro is annoying, it's the main problem .
It would be super fun without this.

sauronz says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:41pm

I love the concept for this game. I also like the animations of the stickmen since I appreciate stickman figures. I also like the sketchy look on the background. I had some trouble with the controls and some parts of the game took a bit of time to load. But I enjoyed it anyway :)

Spelchan says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 7:02am

Great use of theme and good idea. Good luck trying to limit your ambitions in future game jams as it is surprisingly hard to do.

Pitoum says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 9:34am

Excellent idea!
Too bad I didn't see a real ending here, the superhero ran away when the bar turn red...

Sanguine says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 1:50pm

I love the monologues the civilians have. It is a pretty challenging game.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]