December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Planet Xulub

by lekiy - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my first Ludum Dare, and I'm vary happy that it exists. I have learned so much from the project, and had fun too. I only wish I could have been better prepared that I could have gone even further. And thanks for checking me out here. Take care!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#213Innovation3.19
#415Graphics2.81
#603Fun2.30
#614Overall2.52
#664Mood2.13
#692Humor1.47
#723Theme2.04

Comments

Blooperly says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:47am

Froze up right at the beginning! Sorry, it looked good.

Prelucid says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:06am

Game seemed to autorun in some directions. Tentacle thing would not retract all the way. Assuming it's not working, so going to hold on scoring.

HBurd says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:11am

The concept was cool, but it was too buggy.

Gravity Games says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:38am

This one could have been better, and for many reasons. First of all, I don't really see how this has much to do with the theme, the closest thing to villainy that the game has is killing innocent aliens. While I guess that's evil, it seems like it was simply fitted around the theme. The grappling beam is cool, but its really glitchy. Is it a bunch of different objects? Because it kept getting caught on scenery, splitting the beam in two. One time, the end of the beam caught one of the aliens, and continued to go forward, flying right past the edge of the screen, before eventually coming back (fortunately...). Also, the gameplay is tedious. Killing ten of these aliens is already excessive, but having to hunt down one of those purple crystals each time is even more so. About 4 aliens in, it starts to get boring, and the one line message at the end doesn't make it worthwhile to beat the game; it doesn't help that the one line goes off the edge of the screen. However, to your credit, the graphics are really good, minus the fact that the left and right walking animations don't make the character look like he's walking. All in all, I'd say you've got a potentially nice gem here, but it needs a lot of polish to make anything good.

lekiy says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:56am

Did a quick patch of the freezing bug.
@Gravity Games I Intended a Different sort of theme for the game, but did not time or the skill to get to that point so I settled with what I had. But Thanks for complementing my art (I personally think I'm terrible at it) I would have done better on the walking animation if I had time to figure
out something that worked.

All in all this is my 1st Ludum Dare so I tried my best.
--Lekiy--

Graf_Grun says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:51am

That grappling hook...

hints says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:59am

I liked the idea behind it. And at first, I liked the grappling hook. Then things just got.. weird. The hook part kept popping off and I think it became self-aware.

Felix20 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:00am

Grappling hook kept on bugging out, couldn't grab anything from below.
Other than that it was decent, graphics are good, sound would have been a bonus.
Not too villainy but I think it works for the theme.

MrEvilGuy says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:02am

Really cool mechanics. I loved the speed-bursting plants! I could run around swinging xulubs all day long! :D

ddionisio says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:37am

Love the grappling mechanic. At some point though the head fell on the floor.

drizzlybear says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:53pm

Cool! The hook felt really good -- it was hard to play though, because the character movement felt blocky and sluggish. I wish the character movement felt more like the hook! Keep makin' games!

filtoid says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:59pm

I think the key controller is a little flaky - sometimes will get keys stuck on. Managed to push the purple thing off the edge of the map on the last xulub so never got to find out what happened. Interesting game though. Really liked the way the grapple moved and was animated - nice mechanic. Being able to move in the diagonal would have been a useful extenstion. Good game though :)

arhpositive says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:59pm

Decent for a first entry in LD. Nice graphics. Grappling hook is cool. Gameplay is a bit dull, but still, the game is very promising for a first time entrant. Having no audio is kind of bad, though.

stigmawall says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:23pm

Why the grappling goes out? Don't get it. And the "enemies" are not enemies at all, with means the gameplay is easy.

otus says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 5:15pm

Good work for first LD! :)
The game could have a progression in the difficulty each time killed a slime.

lekiy says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:23pm

@otus +1

illugion says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:59pm

I liked the grappling hook, it looked cool, reminded me of a weapon on Contra i think :D

Darkfrost says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 7:28pm

the hook feature was pretty nice made a unique game

nilstastic says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 7:33pm

Good: It was pretty innovative and I liked the grappling hook :)
Improve: sometimes the hook came off and I had to go back for it, also - depth sorting would be nice :)

epiplon says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 7:34pm

Took me some time figure it out what are the crystals in this ambient. And more than once, the hook disattached from the chain.
The comments above had already said it all, but good luck on the next projects.

fishbrain says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 5:08pm

Cool little idea, but game-play needs to be more challenging.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]