December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Crazy Evil Laptop

by impulse9 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Crazy Evil Laptop is a simple puzzle/action platformer where you play the role of a crazed laptop, decided to destroy every human on its way. The problem, though, is that humans are well equipped with errors that can destroy even the bravest of laptops. So careful! Avoid those pesky humans!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness87%
#88Humor3.46
#163Mood3.20
#174Graphics3.48
#297Fun2.98
#326Audio2.54
#328Overall3.05
#338Theme3.27
#620Innovation2.31

Comments

Zazibar says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:58am

Controls felt very slippery. Really like the art style and story.

dansludumdare says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:47am

Really unforgiving game, but awesome otherwise.

enfyrneaux says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:03am

Charmingly fun.

Tifu says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:31pm

Controls pretty slidy, it's pretty hard in level 3 or 4 or so to jump up between two tiles without just jamming your "head" against one and not getting through. And the moving platform bits... aghhh. Love the art, reminds me of ye olde days.

ahmedcab says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:05pm

the controls are very slippery. but the game is very fun and i really like the art style and the sound effects.

VDZ says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:48pm

The game's idea is interesting (though not very innovative - it does little to differentiate itself from DOS-era puzzle platformers), but I did have some issues with the game.

As others have mentioned, the controls are very slippery, which makes precise platforming difficult.

The effects of the switches are not always clear, and this mainly presents a problem in this level: http://i.xomf.com/zfnpk.png. You keep pushing the button, but the blocks seem to move almost randomly in response (there is a pattern, but it took a long time to find it - it was especially confusing due to all other buttons toggling between two states instead of six or so).

The level after that was what made me gave up on the game, though: http://i.xomf.com/xrbzs.png. Clearly there is a puzzle there, but as you're thinking about the puzzle you are hit by errors leaving you absolutely no time to think (as death means you have to start all over from the beginning). There's no clear way to dodge the errors (looking at the readme you could apparently duck, but I had no idea at the time, and many other players will likely face the same problem), and if you try to move forward to seek shelter from the errors you screw up the puzzle - and get hit by even more errors.

The sound also felt very repetitive and became grating after a while.

On the other hand, I did like the graphics, and the idea to start by bashing your keyboard was nice.

impulse9 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:09pm

I'm aware of the many issues with this game. Unfortunately I didn't have enough time left to balance everything properly, so as it is now it is extremely hard to finish it. It is possible though, but I doubt anyone will have the dedication to actually do it.

Probably the most annoying thing, even more than the slipperiness and the oddness of puzzles (and believe me when I say even I don't know the exact logic behind those moving blocks, I was half sleeping when I was coding that :D) are a few jumping puzzles about half-way through the game, where you have to jump on a block that is right above you. Turns out it's insanely difficult to do so. It's possible by trial and error or by using a weird trick where you position yourself on the edge of the block, duck, release duck, wait half a second and then jump and turn at the same time (it took me a while to figure this out, it's still hard though).

If you run out of lives too quickly, you can use the cheat code - press I, B and M keys together to gain an extra life.

@VDZ: actually you can finish that level by running straight ahead and jumping across to the finishing point. You lose a life, but you get through. The rest of the level was meant to be a puzzle but in the end I just left it there to be a distraction.

Anyway thanks to everyone for comments! And thanks for playing!

Tobias Wehrum says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:34pm

The controls felt very slippery indeed. The graphics are charming, and I like the DOS-feeling sound effects :)
Missing music though! Where are my chiptunes?

I ran into the same kind of trouble as VDZ with the switches. It took me a lot of time to figure that level out. And I gave up at the same level as him.

I really understand the balancing issues though - I barely had time to play my game myself!

Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:11pm

I love the graphics, and the gameplay was solid.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:33pm

Fun but hard

Blodyavenger says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:47am

The game is obviously made in retrospective style and with that I mean - grapihcs, sounds and difficulty - I really loved that. Game is really great except the problems most of commentators already mentioned.

Good job, you did well :)

Thepattybeast says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:54am

game is fun but the controls seem slippery

HeXoT says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:54pm

Very fun. Hard to control, but that only made it more challenging.

mcc says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:03am

very cute little puzzle platformer! i didn't mind the weird controls cuz they seem to work well enough for what the game is

tcho_i_er says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:47pm

Good job ! I love the humor in this game ! While(1) attack !!!

illugion says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 6:04pm

The story is really funny, the game is kinda hard but its fun to play :D

Dec 26, 2012 @ 2:56pm

This game is charming, but it does have some control issues. The jumps feel a bit too abrupt, and the controls a bit slidey. I enjoy the story / theme here too, though I could see the users being just as villainous with their nasty logic errors. :p

aare says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 3:00pm

A little buggy, but nerds shooting seagfaults at you make up for it

Patrick64 says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 1:30am

Really cool, reminded me of some great dos games like command keen back in the day. It would be nice if you didn't have to start at the beginning when you die though.

impulse9 says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 6:25pm

Thanks for comments and reviews everyone!

If anyone is interested, here is a video of how I beat my own game (no cheats): http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C9MUukcCZrk

It's clear from the video that some levels are very frustrating. :D

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 31, 2012 @ 4:56pm

I fear this is one of those games that only its parents can truly love :)
I was a NES adept so of course shunned all DOS games so this is a nice peek into another past for me.

Rex Peppers says ...
Jan 1, 2013 @ 2:18pm

Wish I could play windows games... :-(

SuperDisk says ...
Jan 1, 2013 @ 11:52pm

The controls were kinda doodley, but overall a quite polished game.

Mago says ...
Jan 2, 2013 @ 7:46pm

Cool game. A little bit hardcore but fun.

kibertoad says ...
Jan 3, 2013 @ 10:19pm

Bonus points for nice art.

Jan 5, 2013 @ 9:29pm

The IBM cheat is awesome, I keep forgetting to put stuff like that into my games.

I enjoyed this, even though platformers aren't really my thing. The aesthetic is great.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]