December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Knights Must Die

by CptBubbles - 48 Hour Compo Entry

"The most innovative Tower-Defense game of all time with the prettiest art you've ever seen" - Nobody.

Stop the knights from Rescuing the trapped princess for as long as you can!

This is my first LD entry :)
Engine : Unity 4
Art : Photoshop
Music : Wolfram Tones (generated)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#284Fun3.00
#397Audio2.32
#531Overall2.70
#653Graphics2.13
#660Theme2.36
#670Coolness49%
#681Mood2.06
#697Humor1.44
#762Innovation1.50

Comments

Puffi says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:01pm

Couldn't really play the game (didn't crash or anything like that), but the side bar visible in the screenshot was not visible so I couldn't build any units.

Judging from the screenshot the the Linux version was running with lower resolution (the height seems about the same, but width was much lower) and that cropped some important elements from the screen.

CptBubbles says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:26pm

@Puffi I fixed the Web version. The resolution should always be 1050x600 now.
I'll rebuild the standalone versions later.

Xymostech says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:15pm

I played the web version, it was pretty great! I didn't notice that the archers could shoot my archers at first, and I didn't like that you couldn't repair buildings or see when they were about to wear out, but overall nice.

loren says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:51pm

Not bad, that's pretty quick for a tower defense. Nice particles and unit choices

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:03am

I never tire of tower games, which is why they are classics I guess. Graphics fine, nicely implemented (though a selection box around your current menu item would be nice addition)

barigorokarl says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:38pm

Neat! Solid game and very nice, smooth music :-)

bigbadwofl says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:34am

Well done. Complete and polished.

Blodyavenger says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:34pm

Shortcuts to build towers would be great but other than that simple tower defense game, well done :)

Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:35pm

Nice TD game.

Dec 23, 2012 @ 9:53pm

classic tower defense.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]