December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Field Report

by Ludonaut - Jam Entry

A reverse Dating Sim made in Twine.

Collaboration between myself and my artist-in-crime Matthias Conrady.

Known Bug: Will prompt again for name if browser back button is used.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#119Humor(Jam)2.85
#179Innovation(Jam)2.78
#235Graphics(Jam)2.71
#236Overall(Jam)2.73
#238Theme(Jam)2.88
#266Mood(Jam)2.35
#268Fun(Jam)2.29
#273Audio(Jam)1.14

Comments

Ludonaut says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:32am

This is also my first time participating in LD. :)

fishbrain says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:34pm

amusing little story, very nice graphics.

emveyh says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:46pm

Got him into the jail. Did I win? Cool concept and really great for your first entry. I enjoyed playing it :)

Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:04pm

So, I'm the villain for cock-blocking & ripping this guy off? Hm.

dray says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:12pm

Very interesting use of the theme! your idea don't even cross my mind, having to play against this stupid guy named after me, this is brilliant. As for the story, it's quite simple but well done, he ended up in jail, but i'll probably replay it to see other ending. good job!

Mythalore says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:27pm

A very nice take on the theme, if not all that upbeat. ;)

wally2069 says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:07pm

Well that was weird and interesting. Seems like it got the point across too.

lucky.luddite says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:33pm

Well done! I was chuckling the whole time.

WiseGAMER says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:35pm

This is a weird game!

radmars says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:38pm

I played through multiple times to try and see what my responses elicited. Starts off kind of confusing. You create the name of the guy, but then respond as the girl? And I'm not really sure who the villain is. The guy or the girl? The guy didn't ever really do anything villainous and the girl didn't really either. The girl was kind of a bitch but the guy sounded like he tried a little too hard? But neither ever went far enough to be a villain. It seems fairly linear and there was only 1 graphic change. I would have liked to see more image changes as the interactions went down different paths.

Ludonaut says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:47pm

"And I'm not really sure who the villain is. The guy or the girl?"

That's intentional, hence the theme.

Also yes, sadly it is very linear and I think the execution needs some work, but I'm glad people like the game so far.

vids says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:07pm

Interesting take on the theme, well done! Also, the music.

vids says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:09pm

*I meant art.

MvT says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:29pm

Nice graphics, some humor, good game !

pighead10 says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:34pm

Nice take on the theme! It was fun briefly but there was not enough overall outcomes or length to the storyline to be interesting for long.

Floko says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:35pm

that was entertaining =] haha nice work for a first LD , keep it up .

iamorim says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:22am

I'm surprised. I wasn't expecting something like this. Great job! :)

Dec 20, 2012 @ 5:27pm

Excellent

hirsch says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:28pm

This game made me laugh and facepalm (positive) at the same time :D
It is simple, but i played it longer than other LD games
Good Work :)

brantkings says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 3:29am

Congratz!

01101101 says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 10:36am

Good idea. It lacks some jokes though.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]