Now:
October Challenge 2014
Ends in:
Sat, 01 Nov 2014 00:12:00 UTC

Coming Soon:
Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014
Sat, 06 Dec 2014 01:00:00 UTC

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.


Ludum Dare 31:

Ludum Deals

???

 

Recent:

MiniLD #XX


Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

You are the Asteroid! - goulding57 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

First time. Hope everything works.

View goulding57's journal. | View all entries by goulding57

Ratings

Coolness67%
#481Graphics2.67
#511Fun2.53
#614Mood2.27
#628Humor1.79
#637Innovation2.26
#666Theme2.33
#669Overall2.39

Comments

nate427 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:46pm

Pretty good for a first timer, although the controls were a bit confusing. I think you should've just had WASD control constant directions of movement instead of having it be relative to the cursor, it felt a bit unnatural.

loren says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:27pm

Not bad :) I really liked the asteroid's weapon effect. Pretty cool, good job!

delpes says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:35pm

Like it despite being a bit to fast and epileptic ;) Oh and when you lose and restart you keep your points.

otus says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:41pm

The game looks pretty good, but it's also very easy once you understand where the enemies spawn and what they do.
I feel like there isn't much to do. Just aiming and clicking is not a lot, but it's a 48 compo, so I shouldn't complain.
I like it though, I really do. The graphics are very appealing.
Also there's a little bug that doesn't let you reset the game.

Good job!

GameRespect says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:23am

Neat concept, though execution could use a little polish

dwrensha says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:28am

On the OSX build, I had to manually change the permissions of the binary (buried within the .app package) to get it to run.

mcc says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:35am

this is a funny concept, but i don't know how well it really worked. it wasn't all that engaging to me, i guess. the randomly being spawned in a different points took also little while to get used to. i did like the fast paced bullet-hell vibe of it though.

Amos Wenger says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:57am

I liked the graphics style! As for the gameplay, it's more complicated :) I liked that it was fast-paced, and it ran smoothly here, but I didn't really know what I was doing at first. There doesn't seem to be a nice progression where you get to discover how the game plays, and I see no way of "getting good at it" unless spraying lasers all over the screen.

Overall, a good first entry, welcome to LD :)

h.attila says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:07am

The game has great visuals, but it felt too simple. Also, it doesn't have any sound effects or music.

kewry says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:32am

Good word I'd love to see more of this

zatyka says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:36am

I most enjoyed the visuals. I wasn't a huge fan of the controls. Glad you took part in the competition, I hope you enter another.

Zathalos says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:51am

Yea the graphics were pretty good but the gameplay and controls were lacking. Good try though!

Mezzomatto says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:01am

Can't get it to work currently on the mac i'm using. Sorry. :(

cdata says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:16am

Pretty fun game. Except am I really the asteroid? It felt like I was some kind of epic alien space craft :)

ddionisio says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:20am

Cool, I won a +1 goat icon! I anticipated being an asteroid bouncing around, but instead I'm some sort of laser canon. Definitely cooler! Nice use of effects.

arch.jslin says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:29pm

Yeahhhhhh I've got space light sabre! (zwoooooooop)

goulding57 says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 4:45am

Thank you all for the kind words and encouragement, as well as the critiques. This was a fun experience, and I will definitely come back each time. It was great to figure out again how to script, as well as do every part of building a game. Never really done it before, so this was awesome.

lucasncv says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 7:41pm

pretty intense! and a bit too fast :P congratz for finishing your first LD :D

Birchmountain says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:01pm

A very nice debut you got here! The controls are slick and it's easy to understand what you're supposed to do. It's a little easy and it would be great with a health bar. Other than that, great job.

ceronman says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 12:35am

Interesting game. Nice graphics and effects. Too easy.

sclark39 says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 4:24am

Dude get a webhost. It's just silly to have to download a web-based version of a game! If you don't have any other option, you could at least host the files in a folder in your Dropbox public folder. It should work.

Pretty fun. I was able to just stay in one place for a long time. I liked the asteroids, I kept trying to keep the bigger ones alive. Kept me playing for longer.

Bloodyaugust says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 6:05am

The controls were beyond confusing, I had no idea where I was or my purpose, and even once I figured out the controls it was difficult to determine exactly how the game worked. Overall very confusing experience.

aeveis says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 7:57am

laser felt nice, control had to take some getting used to. Would've been interesting to see a difficulty curve or something to make it more challenging!

goulding57 says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 10:36pm

@lucasncv, @birchmountatin, @ceronman - Thank you very much. I was very happy to submit to my first Ludum Dare. Had a great time.

@sclark39 - I know! Haha, i have tried putting it in the dropbox, but it hasn't worked. I am probably doing it wrong. I will keep trying to figure it out, because I agree.

@Bloodyaugust - I am sorry you found it confusing. My bad. Any ideas how to make it more understandable?

@Aeveis - A lot of people have mentioned a difficulty curve or something. I agree, and I think I will add more to it at some point. I am glad the laser worked out.

fishbrain says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 10:17am

Wasn't sure what I was doing... but loved the graphics and the chaos... it needs an additional bit of "Jeff Minter" inspiration then it would rock!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]