December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Cursed Temple

by SirJson - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A survival Game for 1 Player

Update: I managed to fix the OpenAL crash. The game is now working on Windows 8 and on the Windows 7 PCs who reported this error to me!

Dependencies:
# Windows (Tested on Windows 7 but should run on every Windows where OpenGL is available)
# .NET 4 Client Profile (If isn't installed see the included installer)

Reported Bugs:
* There seems to be an OpenAL Problem on Windows 8
* Select Sound hangs on the Game Over screen. It stops when you restart (via [Space]) or close the Game

Controls:

A = Left
D = Right
Left Mouse = Fire
Space = Continue
ALT+F4 = Exit

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#284Audio2.65
#368Mood2.77
#393Fun2.79
#414Overall2.89
#439Humor2.29
#444Theme3.03
#490Graphics2.64
#523Innovation2.52

Comments

SirJson says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:30pm

Sorry guys for the bad "Game Over" sound ;) It seems to be an bug..

arhpositive says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:47pm

Not a bad effort. Maybe if you could've added one more mechanic to the game, it'd be much better. Nice effort on the graphics. :)

Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:57pm

I like the guy's walking animation!

SmallDeadGuy says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:00pm

Needs improvement. Graphics are pretty poor, glitchy if you move towards the edge, arrows seem to have varying/very little range and no physics, upgrades aren't that effective, sound was annoying, no music, etc. Sorry if I sound so mean but this seems like a fairly generically bad game

tumoxep says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:02pm

Nice. Characters animations looks adorable :)

Ramuh says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:05pm

Does not work on Win8 :(

SirJson says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:08pm

@SmallDeadGuy You can not walk down the mountain. I know this a bad solution :X Normally you can also shoot from the mountain but because of a last minute change you can not shoot trough this invisible border :/ Maybe because of this "Bug" you think the arrow range is too low

Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:11pm

Great villain feel. Defending the temple seems to be well done. I enjoyed playing it, but it gets a bit repetitive with time.

Still, great job man.

jmaasing says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:21pm

Sorry, can't rate, I don't have windows.

HeroesGrave says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:19pm

Quite addicting until it gets too hard

FinalMirage says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:07am

This is quite fun! Adding some extra weapons would be a cool addition, maybe even some melee weapons for close range.

Slushy says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:22am

flesh it out!!! :D

kewry says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:52pm

Gets too repetitive, aside from the health of paladins increasing there's nothing more there

berkano says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:55pm

I get an OpenAL problem on Win7: Unhandled Exception: System.BadImageFormatException: An attempt was made to load a program with an incorrect format. (Exception from HRESULT: 0x8007000B)
at OpenTK.Audio.OpenAL.Alc.OpenDevice(String devicename)
at Microsoft.Xna.Framework.Audio.OpenALSoundController..ctor()
at Microsoft.Xna.Framework.OpenTKGamePlatform..ctor(Game game)
at Microsoft.Xna.Framework.Game..ctor()
at CursedTemple.Program.Main(String[] args)

ix says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:00pm

I get the following when trying to launch on Windows8 64-bit:

Unhandled Exception: System.BadImageFormatException: An attempt was made to load
a program with an incorrect format. (Exception from HRESULT: 0x8007000B)
at OpenTK.Audio.OpenAL.Alc.OpenDevice(String devicename)
at Microsoft.Xna.Framework.Audio.OpenALSoundController..ctor()
at Microsoft.Xna.Framework.OpenTKGamePlatform..ctor(Game game)
at Microsoft.Xna.Framework.Game..ctor()
at CursedTemple.Program.Main(String[] args)

SirJson says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:16pm

Ok that is strange.. It seems to be an bug inside of MonoGame :/

h.attila says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:17pm

The idea is good, but the game gets repetitive fast. You could've added different weapons, different enemies, etc.
Also, I think it's weird that the arrows just go in a straight line. Adding gravity would've added some realism and more challenge.
The graphics and sound effects are fine for an LD game.

moomoo112 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:27pm

goes incredibly slow at moments for no apparent reason, and I have a pretty fast computer

HeyChinaski says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:59pm

Nice work. I liked the "King of the Hill" gameplay style.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:14pm

Graphics were flickering rather badly but that was likely caused by some VMWare driver incompatibility with some XNA thing (though haven't had this problem with other XNA games) but I could play.

Simple setup, maybe if you have multiple levels that you can retreat to as the Paladins advance it would add a bit to the strategy and tension. Retreat into the temple and defend the purple idol as the last stand! etc.

olkeencole says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 7:01pm

I thought this was pretty fun. I wish there was a block function, though.

Eniko says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 8:07am

Good effort. Eventually the difficulty ramps up unexpectedly and upgrades aren't enough to cover it. Seems to me that the HP and movement speed upgrades aren't worth it, since you're going to be pinched in between the knights anyway if your damage isn't high enough.

fishbrain says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 10:26am

Not a bad game, would be better with a bit more work/expansion.

impulse9 says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 11:28pm

Fun little game. :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]