Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

October Challenge 2014
Ending Soon!

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

What is Ludum Dare?
Rules / Guide

Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Kitten Hater - Dyn - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A story about boy who hates all good things.
And primarily kittens!

Retro platformer with 4 fun levels and a bit of humor.

controls:
space, up, z - jump
x - switch world
(*cheat*) p - complete current level

View Dyn's journal. | View all entries by Dyn

Ratings

#231Humor2.94
#339Innovation2.92
#346Fun2.88
#429Overall2.85
#447Mood2.64
#495Theme2.91
#525Graphics2.53
#565Audio1.48
#711Coolness47%

Comments

Jezzamon says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:10am

Wow... what a weird game. But kinda cool!

I wish I had control of my own feet though. It's a shame it's quite short.

It'd be nice if you could see the other world partially.

Also: *primarily

Suese says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:10am

The right buttons seemed to be stuck I could not control the character.

Dyn says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:11am

Suese, you can't move the character directly.
Only jump and switch)

Dyn says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:15am

Jezzamon,
Thanks!

I can't find any way to edit the description. Is it possible?

Diventurer says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:36am

Dead kitties...awesome? You...y-you monster!
I... I like kitties. ;'(

Weird game altogether.
Needs more kitties.

aneeslol says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:40am

Very cool concept for a platformer!

Dyn says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:49am

Have you passed the 3 and 4 level?))

Adok says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:18pm

Quite a fun game! World switching reminds me of the latest Giana Sisters game. Well done!

rasmusrn says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:18pm

I like the idea that you always run. This is like Super Mario meets Temple Run :)

romaniac says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:52pm

Nice one, but very short :)

saguaro says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:04am

You monster! But fun, yay.

RHY3756547 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:22am

Life is indeed, too short.

TDRGames says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:39am

Too hard. I think you need to keep the character toward the left side, like in Canabalt. Also, no sound?? But hey, you finished in 48 hours and it runs smooth :)

GreenPixelDev says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:13am

I always enjoy one-button runners and it's cool that you added the extra dimension idea! Good job!

Joncom says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:16am

This was fun, but difficult. How many levels are there? I made it to the one that starts off with a big vertical line of coins.

evilseanbot says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:05am

Its neat to see another game with the extra dimensionial mechanic.

It might've been nice if you were able to preview the other dimension before transporting to it, it would enable more experimentation without sudden spike death.

Nutter says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:30am

How do you kill the kittens? There doesn't seem to be an attack key, and the character just runs through them... jumping on them does nothing either.

Nutter says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:39am

Ah ok I see now, that's what the swapping worlds thing is for.

bugninja says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:59am

Kind-of trippy :) Fun game.

Maristak says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:22am

I love the concept! Had lots of fun playing your game. The only thing I would point out is that the extra-dimension preview of some way would be useful. Well done tho

killmonday says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:18pm

I made 8 kittens die :(

sauronz says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:53pm

Wierd and funny! Love the humor! Also like the smiley face clouds on the background!

Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:16pm

I like that you tried something different. Cheers!

raincole says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:11pm

surprisingly hard but fun

lucky.luddite says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:00pm

Awesome level design + dialogue.

OU GDA says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:30pm

needs dimension preview

KunoNoOni says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:23pm

A very cool, interesting, twisted, fun, imaginative, addicting game you've made.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:11pm

I have no idea what I Just played. :P

CireNeikual says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:21pm

This would be a great game for tablets and smartphones!

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:27pm

I agree with Jezzamon, I wish I could see where the other world will be without trial and error and level restarting.

Cool mechanics nonetheless, good job!

Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:39am

Nice worlds switching idea! But I personally find accelerating a bit awkward, maybe it's better to make him running at a constant speed? :)

CappaGames says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:06pm

Really liked the world changing concept and the difficulty. The game is addicting. It has that Mega Man "one more try" aspect to it.

Jan 8, 2013 @ 12:56am

I didn't hate kittens until now :P

Liked the always run mechanic. Felt like this could borrow some mechanics from Runman/Donkey Kong Country and be very interesting.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]