December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Bad Santa

by carrymove - Jam Entry

Hi, guys! It's my first game, which I developed during 32-48 hours. You can read main story in game intro. Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#209Humor(Jam)2.26
#227Graphics(Jam)2.77
#257Audio(Jam)1.50
#272Fun(Jam)2.26
#289Overall(Jam)2.41
#297Theme(Jam)2.24
#298Mood(Jam)2.00
#302Innovation(Jam)2.03

Comments

Cthu says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:40pm

Dig the NPC design!

Problematic bits - movement is a bit too floaty and I die too much.

Peping says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:28pm

Challenging and fun. Took me a while to notice the controls - up to that point I thought the game was unplayable.
The right part may be too gard to complete. Game misses a few points to be complete.
Still a very good game. Has cute graphics.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:40pm

Hey, nice start!
This game makes me feel like I need to study Stencyl too, this tool looks somewhat attractive for me for a while already...

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 2:24pm

Very sensitive movement. Little bit frustrating. Pretty graphics though, nice retro feel.

Hume says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 2:39pm

I see the Stencyl logo, and then a blank black screen.

carrymove says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 2:42pm

Hume, try to download desktop version (link bottom of the page)

Patacorow says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 2:53pm

I can't run it! I just see a black screen (Desktop Ver)

carrymove says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 2:55pm

Okay, then update your flash player.

infernet89 says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 3:09pm

Really liked the firing system, but i think there is something wrong with the gifts.. The first one reachable on the left-under make me restart the whole game.

caranha says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 3:10pm

The game is interesting, but it is kinda full of bugs. For example, if I shoot while facing left, Santa will dash while shooting. Sometimes when I hit a present, santa dies for no reason.

Some sort of progress indicator (x out of y presents collected) would also be nice.

Cheers, and good luck next LD!

carrymove says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 3:13pm

Some gifts is really wrong. It's a trap, which warned in the intro.

Lidfrid says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 3:23pm

the movement were very sensitive, and there's a bug when i press left arrow key: Santa keep walking and i can't shoot balls!

I like very much the general idea. I think it can be a very tricky hardcore game! :)

sclark39 says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 3:33pm

Movement is really tough, and I got killed picking up one of the presents?

LemonTree says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 3:39pm

Controls a little inconvenient, but it's good start!
Good luck!

pighead10 says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 3:54pm

Fun for a while

SiENcE says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:06pm

The walkmechanic could be better. When you turn the character it steps forward and this makes it complicated to turn on stages. Next time add Music and Sound, Effects :).

dremelofdeath says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:14pm

Buggy -- I started getting killed trying to pick up the presents. I was trying to jump but I kept sliding everywhere -- not sure if this was intentional. Also, I found that the bombs missing an explosion animation was pretty lacking. Look like it could have potential, though!

dray says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:22pm

Controls are a bit floaty and the objective don't seem very clear to me. I got gifts but some reset the level...

illugion says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:33pm

I liked santa's appearance and the level design

Hatscat says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:41pm

nice, but the character glides too much and moves when we shoot to the left, that's strange

jujule says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 6:28pm

Nice little platformer but controls are too twitchy which makes it sometimes frustrating. But a nice effort in such a short time.

goerp says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:39pm

oh dear, the windows version crashed in Assets.as line 145. But the zip only contained a swf so I guess the graphics sound weren't zipped with the game?
I like the graphics, sant looks good.
There are a few bug though, falling off-screen, dying when getting a package, etc but for a first game good (I wish my fist ever game was this good).

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]