December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Die Block

by patricklorio - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Mechanics & Background:
You are the villan and have the ability to malform the world. Every level has at least one moving block. This block with go in one direction till it hits an obstacle taller than it, in which case it changes direction. You are trying to lead the blocks to their death in a block of opposing color (red <> blue).

Controls:
Shift + Mouse Down: pickup grey blocks
Mouse Down: put down grey blocks
Page Refresh: reload level

Notice:
You can only remove blocks if there is not a removable block above. You can only add blocks if there is a non moving block bellow.

Hope you enjoy.

P.S. You can click the screen to skip the title.

If you get stuck, here is a gameplay video with the solutions. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dJ5Iw2uHfBk.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#101Innovation3.56
#242Overall3.22
#266Fun3.06
#430Audio2.20
#435Mood2.65
#490Humor2.17
#558Graphics2.41
#742Theme1.84

Comments

kroltan says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:25am

Nice concept!

Meep says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:26am

Changing the blocks to people/obstacles could have better emphasized your take on the theme. Other than that, it has a neat Minecraft + Lemmings feel to it. :)

De10ter says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:01pm

Won't rate because I can't get it to do anything 0_o
Game starts with the blue box bouncing around in its space on the left and I can't interact with any thing.
Tried clicking on dark gray, light gray, blue and red blocks with and without shift held. Nothing
Tried dragging the blocks with and without shift held. Nothing. :/

bwdevel says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:01pm

The "Shift+Click" on grey blocks didn't work for me... is thi a bug?

xgeovanni says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:01pm

I couldn't solve the "impossible" level. Does anyone know how it's done? Is it just impossible?

bwdevel says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:03pm

Only works in Chrome, doesn't work correctly in Firefox or IE.

patricklorio says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:07pm

@xgeovanni it's possible, climb up the wall on the right.

boxerbomb says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:48pm

This is a challenging new type of puzzle game.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:00pm

The light gray blocks are a bit hard to see on the white background, for the rest a nice game.

Starspell says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:24pm

Wow I really liked this! The puzzles are interesting and the concept is quite unique. I had great fun on it.

My only nit-picks are that it could have done with more audio and that any level where you can fail within the first few seconds without action is rather unfair.

And that it doesn't have much to do with the theme - but who cares! Great little puzzle game.

Tapestry says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:05pm

Nice little puzzle game! Had fun playing. My favorite level was "loopy".

pythong says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:23pm

same problem as De10ter, can't do anything on firefox/osx. looked nice judging from the graphics though...

df458 says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 4:40am

I really enjoyed this! I didn't play through all of the levels(I stopped around when multiple moving blocks showed up), but I think this is a great entry.

Shugor says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 9:34pm

This was a fun game! Although I only got up to the Tetris level, the block placing mechanics made for a lot of cool puzzles. You kind of forget how it relates to the theme after a while, and background music would be nice, but good job otherwise~

Rialgar says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 1:03am

Very nice concept, but lacks in the realization.
1. does not work in FF for me, shift+click does nothing (used chrome instead)
2. mouseup is sometimes not detected, which gets very annoying
3. why the heck do I loose, if two moving blocks of different colors meet?
4. at least tell the player the boxes represent opposing factions that are going to kill each other, imagination will do the rest
5. show the player, how many blocks he has picked up (e.g a little number in corner)
6. solve the case of placing a block, where a moving one is, currently it just hides the moving one, which can lead to exploits (wanted? - say so ingame)

infernet89 says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 8:24pm

Really nice concept, i totally needed an animation for the walking cube..

aare says ...
Dec 31, 2012 @ 3:11pm

Nice game, but I miss the counter of picked blocks - sometimes I don't know how many are left

Colapsydo says ...
Jan 2, 2013 @ 12:32pm

I really like this game.

The mechanics is really fun and levels are entertaining (when it ends the first reactions is: MORE !).
Maybe the interpretation of the theme is too subtle.

Also, it only works correctly on chrome.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]