December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Conquer the World

by nathanj439 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Recruit orcs, skeletons, werewolves, cyclops, and dragons into your army in order to conquer the world as fast as you can. See if you can beat my time of 75 days!

Written using Coffeescript.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#77Audio3.37
#202Theme3.57
#211Mood3.08
#220Innovation3.17
#226Fun3.13
#288Overall3.13
#545Humor2.00
#597Graphics2.29

Comments

Crowbeak says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:28am

I like the music... and I kinda like how it contrasts with the idea of what you're doing. I am glad you didn't add munchy/crunchy noises. This was a lot of fun. I am nowhere near beating your time. xD

crashbanito says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:29am

That music... It's really mellow and relaxing. I love it.

Sestren says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:42am

70 days! Went from werewolves straight to dragons. Nice music, and enjoyable to play.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:46am

Fun game! it's a bit slow at first but then it catches some fairly good speed. Music was nice but a bit unrelated to what's happening on screen. It's a good entry though, I liked it!

Meep says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:20am

It was fun to watch the units go at it. I feel it would've been a lot better with larger sprites; the current state has an overworld-map/mini-map kind of look to it. I also feel the units could be balanced better; at the moment dragons seem much better than any other unit that once you reach them, you just spam them from then on. There doesn't seem to be too much strategy involved, but rather trying different combinations until you get dragons. It was a nice implementation, though, and has lots of potential. :)

tim_u says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:48am

Found my best was either all skeletons (71 days) or all skeletons for the first level then dragons beyond. (69-70 days. Accidentally restarted before I read it.)

GeekHorse says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:42am

Fun game. First try was 85 days. Second try was 75 days.
Love the background music.

Tyren says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:37am

The music was mellow... I imagine this guy leisurely playing a lute while ordering dragons to raid cities!

goulding57 says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:13am

Good mellow music, moved a little slow though. Had fun towards the end!

h.attila says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:15am

Interesting concept.
I liked your music but it didn't really fit the game in my opinion.

mcc says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:18am

not too bad! the mechanic is pretty decent. i got 82 days (probably not so good). the look could use some work. the music is good, though i don't know how much it fits the mood of the game (maybe that's not a bad thing?).

illugion says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:11pm

It took me 73 days XD it was fun and i like the music :D

Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:20pm

Good music and constrasting mood
I feel the game's interactivity is very slim. You just kinda try to optimize your resources and then you see how it goes.
Your AI looks intresting though.

Blodyavenger says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:46am

82 day! I loved the concept - really addictive gameplay watching those minions destroying everything faster and faster. Music fit to the game greatly in my opinion. I liked that a lot.

gilesa says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:35am

73 days! Love the music!

LeReveur says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:37am

My best score is 69 days, with werewolves, then dragons, then another bunch of werevolves and finishing with anothers dragons. Simple but very good entry, I liked playing it. Good job :)

KingSavate says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:21pm

Nice game. I like it, it's relaxing to send troops to destroy cities on a nice music. It took me 77 days at the first try. I might give it another go.
Good job :)

TechnoBulldog says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 1:45am

I enjoyed this. It was a great idea. I was able to conquer everything in 76 days.

LemonTree says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 1:15pm

81 days :-) very simple, but addictive. I like it.

chrismwaite says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 12:20pm

80 days - I really like this one. It was extremely satisfying watching the cities being devoured. My only comment is the balancing; the first city was well balanced but subsequent cities were very easy and it became a "click the dragon" exercise. I think different building types requiring different units would solve this.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]