December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Dracula Super Goat Hunter

by lur - 48 Hour Compo Entry

C and SDL + SDL_ttf.

Controls: Arrow keys to move. Jump with Z, space or uparrow. X to scare goats.

Tools used: SciTe, GIMP, gdb, SunVox and Audacity.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#40Humor3.72
#41Audio3.58
#50Mood3.61
#55Overall3.70
#63Fun3.58
#174Graphics3.48
#210Theme3.55
#326Innovation2.94

Comments

Jezzamon says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:05am

Look forward to playing this once the windows (or mac? (or WEB?)) version is up!

MrEvilGuy says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:29am

Those goats are really smart. Really fun game and excellent music! Challenging too. Great job!

DDDBOMBER says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:51am

Really nice music, quite a fun game, well done!

Dir3kt says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:53am

Like the NES feel :D

And there are goats!!

sork01 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:20pm

Awesome game!

luclabelle says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:52pm

Love the game. Im jelly

Intoxicatious says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:26am

Maybe a little too fast to start, but it was good humored fun.

sclark39 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:49am

Really fun. It's kind of like a twist on Bubble Bobble. The sounds and animations for scaring are very effective, and although I don't love the bouncing if you hold jump, I do think it was important for the gameplay. Good work, very well polished.

Regarding my game, Hero leveling up was planned but cut due to time constraints, and other features considered but also out of the scope of the 48hr window. Glad you liked the game, and thanks for playing&rating!

sparkymc says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:17am

Holy Goats! This is the best one I've played so far. Your controls are very intuitive and all of the mechanics are great!

sev_inf says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:26am

Cool game. Reminds me some of the first NES games I had as a child.

Xeke_Death says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:15am

Sound and graphics work well together, gives a retro feel... Good work!

Jiggawatt says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:51am

A solid entry. There's some cool ideas, like how collecting takes scaring first, and the incorporation of screen wrapping in your level design. The music is tasteful, but the sound effects are a bit jarring.

Faust says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:06pm

Really interesting game, I love the stunning goat. :)

Slushy says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:02pm

has that genuine retro vibe

Atomic says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:11pm

Best story ever! Nice graphics, fantastic moody music, great gameplay!
Goat spawning feels strange and enemies shouldn't be something traditionally evil (slimes).. maybe vampire hunters, priests or something like that.

schnerble says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:18pm

It just locks up on launch for me :( (running on Linux, Ubuntu 12.04)
I had a quick go at compiling it myself, after installing SDL and SDL_ttf, but got lots of link errors unfortunately.

heloheu says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:40pm

Great story and graphics, the goats are so cute :]

lur says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:14am

@schnerble: I've fixed the linux release (binary+source) (tested on Ubuntu 12.04 and 12.10). Replaced the old linux link up top.

BlackBulletIV says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:51am

An interesting concept. I quite liked the theme, and especially the image for Dracula scaring goats. The gameplay got a bit boring soon in though.

Starspell says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:18pm

My anti-virus really didn't like your game whatsoever. I'll try it again later on a different computer.

schnerble says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:18pm

lur: thanks. Building the new source worked for me, after a bit of messing around with libraries and paths; I'm on a 64-bit Ubuntu, which had for some reason slipped my mind :) Cool game, too; quite fun, and gets challenging quickly as well. Good work!

MarekkPie says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:06am

Great little Mario Bros. like.

davidwparker says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:10pm

If you throw up an HTML5 version or Mac version, I'll check it out.

singpolyma says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 7:17pm

Love this game!

Spelchan says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 6:42am

Fun game. Liked the scaring goats. Found the speed a bit too fast.

blob says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 7:42am

Very fun to play ! And a great take on the goat theme and bubble bobble.

Dec 26, 2012 @ 8:47pm

My best score was 821, I made it to level 5. I really didn't like how I had to play each level 3 times, it made the game feel very repetitive. Dracula's jump was pretty weird, and the goats moved a bit fast, but I really enjoyed the game as a whole. Great job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]