December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Super Escape

by Saspiron - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Super Escape is a game where you are a super villain who has escaped his holding cell.

Have Fun.

Made in about 6hours had other stuff i had todo that weekend.
TimeLapse:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aeBKrUybvtI
if you want to make your own levels look in data folder.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#71Innovation3.69
#404Fun2.77
#460Overall2.81
#553Audio1.57
#631Mood2.24
#651Humor1.69
#726Theme2.00
#735Graphics1.69

Comments

Saspiron says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:02am

Source: http://dl.dropbox.com/u/42623931/Super%20Escape%20Source.zip

Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:28pm

I have no idea what's going on or how I'm meant to control this! I managed to accidentally do the first two levels while I was trying to read the intro and now my dude has disappeared?
Yep, if you move up and down too much the guy disappears completely :O
Game is hard. Really hard. Not quite sure why everything only moves when you do though.
The concept was a neat idea though.

Edocentrique says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:36pm

First time the mouse run away so i reloaded it, and then i gat it. It's funny how things move only when YOU move, and it's a very interesting gameplay !

jmaasing says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:13pm

Sorry, can't rate because I don't have windows.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:21pm

i love this idea. with some polishing it can be very good game

tomvert says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:22pm

Very interesting concept !

Mava says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:23pm

Once I worked out how to use the mouse for the little guy it was quite nice :) nice to see something different

Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:25pm

Ack, crazy mouse movements! Great idea, really difficult to move around :D

Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:35pm

I like the idea of the game only updating as you move. It was also interesting to move with only the mouse, yet still being affected by gravity. I did find a bug though, where moving off the screen would make your character disapear forever

delpes says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:09pm

Very cool concept. Did also encounter the bug where my little guy went off screen. Moved it to my replay folder :)

DaGamesta says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:11am

Very good, innovative concept! Graphics and music weren't much, but I loved the concept. Programming was slightly buggy, but I can't really blame you, this is something that I wouldn't dream of tackling in 48 hours. I hope this becomes something more. :)

rvmook says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:19am

It was challenging but not to hard. Took a while to get used to the controls but eventually I (kind of) got the hang of it. In the last level I cheated a bit by moving rapidly left and right so I got to start next to the tricky maze thing. So I sort of escaped, but deep down in my heart I know I'm still trapped...

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:55am

It took a second to figure out how the controls worked, but once I did it was brilliant. Using the mouse feels precise until you get to the jumping levels when the vertical movement breaks down and becomes uncoupled from the mouse.

Fun to play if a bit buggy, totally keep developing this! :D

karsyf says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:40am

Great idea.

xandy says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:23am

love the idea but a bit hard. maybe a jump & time indicator would be nice.

caranha says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 5:21am

Very innovative game play. I like the controls and the idea of a "turn-based" platformer.

The game would have been much more fun if there weren't a couple of bugs:
1- If the game lost focus for any reason (clicking outside of the screen, or alt-tabbing), it would often lose track of the mouse cursor, and the villain would simply disappear from the screen, with no way to return.

2- There was no way to end the game, and with the mouse cursor captured by the program, it was hard to click on the close window button.

Polish it a little more and you got a really unique game on your hands. Thanks!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]