Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

October Challenge 2014
Ending Soon!

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

What is Ludum Dare?
Rules / Guide

Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

ASMOSNOS - Mase - Jam Entry

My first jam/LD entry.

It's a futuristic story of betrayal, planetary annihilation, and dancing crazy.

The post-jam version has about 3x as much content and some fun new controls (flying!), so check it out.

CONTROLS:
Spacebar to jump, E to use stuff. F to fly. The Jam version uses WASD for movement, the Post-Jam version uses the arrow keys.

What went right:
-Epic doodads.

View Mase's journal. | View all entries by Mase

Ratings

Coolness100%
#21Mood(Jam)3.79
#26Graphics(Jam)4.29
#86Humor(Jam)3.12
#87Overall(Jam)3.39
#121Innovation(Jam)3.08
#127Audio(Jam)3.08
#178Fun(Jam)2.74
#234Theme(Jam)2.91

Comments

nate427 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:40pm

I really loved the art-style, the music, and the overall mood. Great job!

Cthu says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:48pm

Yep, the mood is interesting and the structures are very original.

Casino Jack says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:26pm

Pretty darn entertaining. Dude's a better dancer than me!

chrismwaite says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:36pm

Very unique art style - really lovely. Nicely implemented concept and well worth it for the dancing alone ;) This deserves more votes.

TheSheep says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:38pm

The fact that even the smallest rock stops him, and that he always jumps the same distance makes it difficult to hit anything. A little thin on plot, but nice... things, whatever it is.

Mava says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:40pm

Really nice style! As an amiga fan I found this game to be very fun, really well done :)
I want to know more about this crazy world of yours!

aeveis says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:40pm

very interesting. felt like a surreal version of commander keen where I played Lemongrab (from Adventure Time).

Mythalore says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:41pm

The graphics are amazing! The collision's a little strange but the rest of the gameplay's good.

aeveis says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:41pm

very interesting. felt like a surreal version of commander keen where I played Lemongrab (from Adventure Time)

bitbof says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:59pm

Wow that artstyle is super unique. I love it. Also +1 surreal commander keen

crashbanito says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:59pm

This art style is insane. Good job!

BNeutral says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:01am

I have no idea what I just played.

enfyrneaux says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:18am

I felt like I was suddenly back to 1992. Awesome use of color!

Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:22am

This was very interesting. Congratz on finishing!

Dew says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:30am

Awesome art!

But we need some action! (Dance was fun tho)

01010111 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:49am

My personal favorite graphics so far! Great work!

Wan & Manu says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:14pm

The mood of the game is the main interest of this thing... And it's not a negative comment: discovering the atmosphere and the strange scenery of this is actually really entertaining in itself, nice job. Top notch entry!

bubar says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:20pm

great graphics and mood, but think about using keyboard arrows for users who dont have a qwerty keyboard !

Mase says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:22pm

Thanks for playing/commenting. I had a lot of fun drawing this.

@aeveis I was hoping for an Arzach vibe, but I guess Lemongrab is close enough.

@bubar I hadn't thought of that… I used WASD because I thought someone might not have arrows... :S

Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:31pm

Nice style. Let's dance!

Saisaith says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:02am

Wow.. this game is amazing! Honestly great job!

Benjamin says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:06am

Wow awesome artstyle, please if you participate to another LD make a timelapse of your work, I'm so curious to see you designing it. The game is cool, but I only visited the dancer place and finished it just after.I feel like I missed something but unskipable intro dissuade me to try another time.
I also had a bug controling 2x heroes a the same time on the start of the outdoor levels.

raubana says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:16am

Damn, I love this style. Very original. Not much gameplay, but I still love the style.

Mase says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:50am

@Benjamin There's one other area, the goat statue in the screenshot. He says "Behold my power" and some firework-like animations appear with some randomness. Also, thanks for the bug report; I thought I got rid of that problem.

rylgh says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:41am

THIS IS WONDERFUL! absolutely gorgeous art. bravo. nice ambient music. just fantastic.

bigbadwofl says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:45am

Amazing art and amazing mood. Well done.

Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:25am

I liked the art style a lot. Roger Dean vibe from his old Psygnosis game covers. I didn't really know what was happening. I walked around, danced with a guy, then blew the planet up? Needs polish in terms of collision and player movement.

BlockBrains says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:39am

Thats a really interesting art style you have there!

monomanio says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:16pm

Very unique visuals, and the music complements that. Great job!

Faust says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:46pm

Very unique entry, especially the art.

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:17pm

How delightfully bizarre!

Rex Peppers says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:58pm

I liked the "world traveling" map you did. Would you mind posting the stencyl source you used, I was wondering how I might do something like that in an adventure style-game I've been thinking about making...

Mase says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:51pm

@Rex Peppers: I posted the source you asked for; my sincere apologies if there are any random curse words in it. Haha.

The scene transition event I used for the world map is exactly what is pictured in Part 3 of this tutorial:
http://www.stencyl.com/help/viewArticle/166/

There is a problem though: if the actor enters the region, then exits, then enters again before the screen fades out, two actors will spawn in the next screen. So either reduce the fade out time, or, if you want it to be foolproof you could use this technique:
http://www.thestencylblog.com/2012/06/16/stencyl-events-do-please/

killmonday says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:08pm

This was seriously cool, like being transfered into a weird world of weirdness! Loved it.

Meep says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:17pm

The character's art seemed very inconsistent with the rest of it. It also seemed to have some collision/hitbox issues with general movement/jumping. That said, the main art style was beautiful, and it set the mood well. :)

blackmagic says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:32pm

unplayable for non azerty guys :)

blackmagic says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:37pm

don't get the theme. graphics awesome. action a bit dull for me. hard to play for non QWerty guys :)

iandioch says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:42pm

Haha, that was great. Particularly loved the dancing. Also, that art is incredible. You must have cheated, nobody could make that much awesomeness in one weekend?! :D

Darkfrost says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:05am

pretty coools weird but coools

Mase says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:57am

I uploaded an arrow key version.

@iandioch To rapidly create the art, I photographed modeling clay against a makeshift greenscreen, then used Photoshop to resize the photos and conform them to a 7 color palette. The only time consuming part was drawing 1-pixel black outlines around things, and occasional hand-drawn details like the blue statue's chair.

illugion says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:12am

The graphic style of this game was cool, i just thought it was kinda weird on the world map the white dots x.x but i loved unleashing some funky moves there lol XD

Dec 20, 2012 @ 4:33am

this was fantastic. so retro and yet so contemporary!!!

Porpentine says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 4:54am

love this, i explored every part of the world

delicious mood

angrygeometry says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 5:41am

um, this is astounding. good work.

cwilloughby says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:25am

Art, music, theme, retro feel, story. Great work.

fishbrain says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:35am

I think the word is "trippy". Loved the graphics and overall style - including the strange beepy music. Well done!

CoffeeOnimal says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:27pm

Well, that was just bizarre.
And I don't mean that in a bad way, I'm kind of glad I found this one when I did, gave me a nice jolt.
Very nice entry.

SonnyBone says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 3:29pm

... wow. This is brilliant. There isn't much of a 'game' here but the style is mesmerizing. The clay/green screen art idea is amazing. High marks for innovation, graphics, humor, and mood. Great job!

hypp says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:14pm

Very nice mood.

3dwoody says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:21pm

Nice. Crazy. Quirky feel to it and just... bizarre! Good work with the theme.

Strkl says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:21pm

I expected a better end..Because the rest was insanely good
You got totally crazy with art style, I don't know what crazy process you found for making those weird shape but the overall look is amazing (I felt like playing in a moebius (but crazier) drawing)

Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:51pm

Wow, this is absolutely gorgeous. Props to the artist.

RE: the bug you found in "The Condemned" - I couldn't reproduce it, but while testing I got another bug that gave me the flashlight early. It seems like this is random and a low-percent chance of happening. Thank you for bringing it to my attention.

BrothersT says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:03pm

The art in this game is crazy good. very illustrative, very quirky. Exactly what should be seen from indie games rather than just "watercoulours here, silhouettes there..."

Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:36pm

What a psychadelic experience O-o loved it

Kuulog says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:56pm

That was a pretty fun thing to play. If there was an 'ambition' category, I'd give you five stars.

tomc says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 10:46pm

WTF were you smoking when you made this? It's crazy awesome.

raincole says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 5:29am

You have strong aesthetic sense. It looks messy but beautiful.

Houly says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 4:44pm

Oh man, that style is awesome! And weirdly funny. I was really entertained.
The controls are the only thing that need a little more work.

Mesene says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 8:53pm

that was unnespected, loved it

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 11:35pm

nice!

Tom 7 says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 2:39am

Really lovely graphical style!! I wish the container had forced an even pixel ratio; on my screen I noticed some jitteriness as things scrolled.

Yakka says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 10:05am

A great trip in a crazy universe. Awesome exploration game.

Gungnir says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 7:10pm

If you can get better at developing the "game" parts I can see magical things happen with future entries. Lovely stuff.

SimianLogic says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 3:16pm

Definitely the weirdest entry I've seen. Liked the art & music a lot!

MrEvilGuy says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 4:17am

Probably my favourite game of the competition!

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 6:41pm

It was a very strange game experience for me. I don't know if I got to run into a lot of other things like some other folks did since I ran by one area, and then got to the "X" and suddenly the game was over. It was strange and kooky, and I like it that way. The art was cool, and the music was somewhat fitting although a little on the erratic side. Great work on developing this world though! :)

ddionisio says ...
Jan 1, 2013 @ 1:58am

Brilliant art and the music fits well. I love everything about this game!

Jeremias says ...
Jan 1, 2013 @ 3:39pm

A very strange experience ^^ nice visual style anyway.

Joseph Miller says ...
Jan 1, 2013 @ 10:01pm

The art style was superb. I loved the dance scene. The text should go by faster or you should be able to advance through with a button. I liked how laid-back the gameplay was.

lotusgame says ...
Jan 3, 2013 @ 11:02am

Wow really moody ! These graphics combined with music is so special.. i like it. Furthermore, i didn't expect to find an adveture game in Ludum Dare. Incredible work !

Neonlare says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 8:27am

Those rocks, but holy hell, the style in this is astounding.

mcc says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 7:39am

i LOVED the art style and the sound. i hope you do more games!

JaJ says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 11:41am

Really weird. In a good way of course.

leafo says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 6:38am

Really pretty graphics. Really interesting world, I wish there was more!

Mista Koo says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 4:39pm

Love the weirdness in aesthetics and animation. Great dithering and layering too.

Jan 8, 2013 @ 12:13am

What a magnificent jam game! The controls were a bit sticky, but that's a minor gripe when there's so much on offer in ASMOSNOS.

Jan 8, 2013 @ 12:19am

Ok, that was the weirdest game I've tried so far. Interesting but... weird. Kudos on the unique art style.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]