December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

STOP Hero Quest

by halemaster - Jam Entry

An RTS like game where you play the villain who tries to stop the hero (who is playing an RPG) from getting loot and destroying your base.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#62Innovation(Jam)3.43
#98Theme(Jam)3.60
#186Overall(Jam)2.93
#189Fun(Jam)2.70
#190Mood(Jam)2.73
#236Audio(Jam)2.08
#250Humor(Jam)2.00
#305Graphics(Jam)2.07

Comments

hints says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:45am

Fun for a bit, is there an end state? Seems like I just got enough income that I could keep the hero dead without losing anything.

Sam Driver says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:59am

A little let down by the interface (something to show what tiles have minions on would help a lot), but a neat concept and very pleasing once you're able to send out swarms of minions.

celeron55 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:07am

There could be a better indication of a new special place spawning, because seeing them is quite important. Also, a scoring system would work well.

A well-working implementation of a very good idea.

Tyranus says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:12pm

I like the idea. You should work in a new version of this game :)

naxum says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:44pm

I would like a feature that lets you see if you have minions on a tile without having to mouse over them, but I really like the idea! If there was more feedback to the player and maybe even a smaller map this game could make a great mobile title :)

strong99 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:54pm

Nice and good working game. It's fun to send out an entire army of minions to the hero. It was a bit hard to find out how many minions are where later in the game. Not directly clear which tiles were left empty. (except hovering the tile). The hero could be anyone, he should have been busy saving kittens or something. events like : "The hero saved Muskan Town" :P

Overall I played it with joy. I would love to see a new version in the future :)

Kharza says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:58pm

Like a strategic scale dungeon keeper, quite fun!

halemaster says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:33pm

Yea, I'm thinking of reimplementing using jMonkey for a better interface. Thanks for the feedback :)

NukeTheBunnys says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:45am

Neat concept, I like the map and art style

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:06pm

Pretty cool; would have been much more helpful if I could see where my minions were, maybe through numbers or a heat map.

bushmango says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:55pm

Awesome idea! It could be soo much fun if you improve on it. 1) UI out of the way of the map 2) indication of how many minions are in a space 3) indication of the level of the hero 4) better indication of special areas. You could make normal areas darker and special areas lighter so they pop out

someone says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:21am

Cool idea.
Would be useful to highlight the tile under the mouse. I sent minions to the wrong place a few times. Also knowing where minions were would be very helpful ad other people have suggested.
Interesting how much the info panel slows the game down.
This game could be awesome with a bit more work.

LoneStranger says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:48pm

Love it. I put my castle in the corner so it was hard to defend the special locations (it was also hard to see some of them, maybe they need a better indicator that they are appearing?) I think the concept of creating minions is kind of pointless as long as there is nothing else to spend money on, so having to hit E got in the way. I agree with some of the other comments--A better way to feed the data to the player would reduce the 'overhead' of playing and increase the enjoyability. I believe you have a fairly solid foundation and would be interested in seeing any future updates.

Eniko says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 3:59pm

Pretty fun game! Sad there's no end state besides losing though. Agree that it could be clearer where the special areas are.

Neonlare says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 8:56am

Was fun for a while but very hard to get into interface-wise.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]