December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Enemy of the State

by Arcantic - 48 Hour Compo Entry

WASD to move, F to interact, ESC to exit. Dont forget that last bit. [ESC] TO EXIT.

Unzip, then Run the .bat, not the .jar! Be sure to read the readme as well so you get some more info. Comment if it doesn't work! I've never distributed before, so I can only hope it does.

Edit -
Kill the boss in each area, then proceed through the 'black gate' (if you will) to go to the next area

This game may not run properly on monitors that arent 1920x1080 - Some of the screens draw things to stretch based on that resolution, my apologies, it is too late to go back and fix that. Though it would not require much work.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#288Graphics3.13
#376Overall2.96
#417Fun2.74
#447Mood2.64
#450Theme3.00
#530Audio1.71
#545Humor2.00
#693Innovation2.09
#810Coolness44%

Comments

Saisaith says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:12am

This was pretty enjoyable!

Quarry says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:14am

Quite fun but it wasn't really appealing at first

Arcantic says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:31am

Heh, the title screen really throws off the initial appeal. The source, since I forgot to go back and add it before the post closed, is at https://docs.google.com/uc?export=download&confirm=no_antivirus&id=0B4-H3L0fyEmZNEFMTDFROGZGcUU

Kix says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:26am

Nice game although after i killed everyone i wasn't really sure waht to do...

aeveis says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:27am

not working for me, I think because the commands in the .bat are not recognized in cmd. I have windows 7 professional 64-bit.

uuav says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:29am

I find walking a bit slow, but still fun!

apophenia says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:32am

1) Is there supposed to be sound? I'm just hearing some occasional geiger counter-esque clicking. Oh, there was one when I was killed... (I think that's what happened).

2) Is there a way to see how much you've been injured? Or know when you're nearing death? I can't tell if the game is running in the correct resolution. It seems like I can run into these guys several times without dying, but I don't really know if I'm "taking damage."

Hume says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:42am

Suddenly, from nowhere, a huge game appeared.

Those green dudes are wimps.

Arcantic says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:43am

@kix - each area requires you to kill the area's boss in order to proceed. The next area is through the black gate, which I should have made more clear.
@aeveis - It requires you to have -javax in your class path; if you get this error, its probably because (in technical terms) when the .bat runs "-java LD25.jar", it doesn't know what "-java" means. Its too complicated to go and set your environmental variables for something unimportant.
@apop - The sound i used was simple bfxr sounds, nothing fancy. I don't think the resolution set right, because there should be a health bar at the top right. Ill have to look into that for the future.

Xheis says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:06am

I like it, but the walk sound is pretty bad dude..

SunnyCode says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:59pm

looks a lot like one noch made XD

nitramgc says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:33pm

Nice submission!

I just mute the game after some times because the step sounds was really annoying!

The rest is great, congratz!
If only I was able to make 1% of what you made when I was your age!

aeveis says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:57pm

You could have just told me to set my environmental variables. So anyway I got it working, pretty fun, realized I could hit enemies a distance away when I had the sword. My health was cut off but may have been the resolution issue you mentioned.

goulding57 says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:54am

Don't have windows, but your screenshots look pretty good. Great job completing!

Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:55am

This was enjoyable to play! The graphics are really nice and the controls are solid! You may have to adjust the resolution of the game though. The title screen for some reason was really disorienting--I speculate it's due to the use of dark complimentary colors in the wording (perhaps white on grey could work). If this goes unfixed it could ruin the initial appeal of your game, or make less users interested in the game.

The audio while good and fits the theme, could be adjusted to tiny bit to be easier on the ears--perhaps some reverb on the steps to emphasize the fact that the player is wandering through a maze of jails and making the knife stabbing sound a little bit quieter and more rounded.

Overall the mood for this game is really nice!

Good game!

Eniko says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 6:43am

Good game, works well and the graphics convey what they should. Couldn't manage to find the black gate in the second level for some reason, though. Guards get stuck on walls a lot though, which kind of takes the challenge out of it, and for some reason every now and then the game would freeze for a second for me and drop to 1 fps.

SuperDisk says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 2:03am

The screen is too stretched out to see what's going on, and the title screen is half cut off.. it seems like a bug.

SiENcE says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 9:03am

Well what can i say, i like this kind of game :). Well done!

sPe says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 8:02pm

Really nice retro feeling.

Swofl says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 7:20pm

Nice style. But while trying to figure out what the sword key was, I think I accidentally found a debugging feature you left in :P

triplefox says ...
Jan 1, 2013 @ 7:52am

The footstep sounds gave me a headache

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]