December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Gin Monster Bob

by Patrick64 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Bob has got home sozzled, late on the weekend, but he's losing his buzz; he wants it back before he hits the sack. But the only drink in the house is stinky old gin and it's his housemates. You must help Bob navigate his way past his sleeping housemate and avoid tripping over his stuff.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#150Humor3.17
#301Innovation3.00
#324Fun2.91
#536Overall2.69
#549Mood2.43
#654Theme2.41
#668Graphics2.09

Comments

ahmedcab says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:01am

very nice idea, but you need to improve your art style.

zazery says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:51pm

I thought the concept was interesting. At first I didn't realize I had to stay upright but once I failed I understood. It was difficult to tell if you were touching an object or not.

loren says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:49pm

Pretty accurate game :P Art was fine in my opinion, 48 hours to do it all is pretty intense. Cool game mechanic

Beerman says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:22pm

Heh, I've had nights like this.

csanyk says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 5:15am

Reminds me of something I played on the Wii once...

Clodial says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 1:35am

I liked it!

Dec 23, 2012 @ 2:49pm

A drunken stealth game? Brilliant!

Dec 24, 2012 @ 2:04pm

Nice! Love the difficulty levels :)

Dew says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 5:04pm

Hehe you have to be an html expert to do this game! I learned a lot from your code! The Gameplay its simple but addictive great work!

Zelen3d says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 1:43am

Omg why is this couch in my way! Get away you damn couch! I'm gonna , gonnna, ..aah ... DAMN!!!!!

schnerble says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 3:38pm

Heh :) I quite liked this, including the art style. It seemed very evocative of hungover experiences :) I managed to finish it on all levels except the hardest; good fun.

Retrac says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 4:37pm

Haha an interesting take on being the villain. I think the game's perspective made it a little difficult to identify where you would hit objects and what you could get away with. However, the objective was simple and the higher difficulties were very fun to play. Congratulations on a solid game and best of luck in the future!

goerp says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 1:28pm

Such a game is ideal for a Ludum. It's funny, fun to play and it doesn't take a lot of time.
The movement works well, the game fits the feeling you get.
Like it a lot.
Just some sounds and a drunken music would be nice.

impulse9 says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 4:19pm

Great idea, and the graphics suit the game perfectly. Some music or sound effects would really add to the mood though. :)

Jeremias says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 6:21pm

Nice way to map the feel of being drunken to buttons :D

Dec 31, 2012 @ 5:14pm

Ahh, playing this game on New Years Eve reminds me what tomorrow shall bring. A new year and a horrible Gin Hangover! Fun lil game :)

Niavlys says ...
Jan 1, 2013 @ 12:33pm

Fun mechanic! I didn't figure out the scene at the first vision but I guess it's because of the drink :) It misses audio and a more coherent/logical background, but the idea is very nice.
Other than that, happy new year!

Jan 4, 2013 @ 10:47pm

I liked the story and mechanics, very funny!
My only complaint is the art. Great job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]