December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Unsave the Princess

by karlin - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Play as an evil wizard attempting to escape from a knight seeking revenge.

Didn't really get a chance to flesh out the game as much as I'd have liked but learned lots and had lots of fun!. There's one or two bugs, but they shouldn't cause too many problems.

Thanks for looking!
Any feedback would be greatly appreciated, would love to develop this game further.

Controls
Press 1,2 & 3 to cycle through your active spell
1 - Fireball
2 - Summon Block
3 - Teleport
Left click to use active spell
WASD to move
esc to quit

edit: found a small bug which occurs on some graphics cards (there's small gaps between the tiles), I'll upload a fixed version post-compo.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#52Fun3.64
#69Theme3.92
#74Overall3.62
#79Graphics3.88
#83Mood3.42
#137Audio3.13
#164Humor3.13
#265Innovation3.08

Comments

solidplasma says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:51am

I love the concept and execution, but I couldn't figure out how to kill the monster shooting fireballs after I used a block as a shield. Still, a wonderful puzzle platformer.

Zillix says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:15am

Really neat! short and sweet. particularly had a lot of fun repeatedly warping to travel super quickly.

KhaoTom says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:35am

Nice little puzzles, perfect game length, beautiful sound. Really good work.

arkeus says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:53am

I loved how even though it was short with limited abilities how you managed to come up with neat little puzzles. I seemed to do things complicated, and afterwards realized what I probably was supposed to do instead. I don't think putting a block on the knight's face was correct though...

deathray says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:56am

Great ideas and wonderful art style!
I got stuck at my first battle with the archer though.

Jiggawatt says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:58am

Oh you clever you.

caasi says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:02am

Poor knight, can't go though the wall :p

teh_eria says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:11am

The ability mechanics played nicely with each other once I got used to them. Short and sweet. Nice job.

Freakill says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:57am

I really liked the game. Despite being short mechanics are good and puzzles are nice. A little bit buggy (had to restart some times because teleportation inside castle made the game crash some times :(). But I can imagine a longer game with this plot and mechanics :D

Smaxx says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:46am

Really nice game, although I'm having some tiling issue (gaps between tiles running on a Nvidia GTX 680 and 1920x1200 desktop resolution). Think I'd blame subpixel precision on that (make sure to draw your stuff exactly at whole pixels/rounded).

jsmars says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:14pm

Great platformer and the tiny feel to the whole experience. Would be fun there was more levels too :)

karlin says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:02pm

@Smaxx Thanks, think I've managed to fix it. I'm gonna fix up a few other things and upload it to the main page next week.

steamgirl says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:02am

I can't seem to figure out the controls. If I select 1,2, or 3 it doesn't seem to actually use the spells? Other than that - lovely graphics. Nice touches that make it feel more alive.

Edocentrique says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:06am

Spells were usefull, art is great, game mechanics are well done.. a good entry !

Sam Driver says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:07am

Really nice and tidy game. Tight design.
Had a small graphical glitch for me which created tiny gaps between the map's tiles.

barkergames says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:38am

I must say, this is the best one I have played so far!
Awesome Job!

saguaro says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:23am

Very nice!

WiseGAMER says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:56pm

Very simple and creative .. I lol at the end

ilo says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:56pm

It looks great and the spells complement each other really well! There could have been more puzzles but being short is better than being too long.

blob says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 2:39am

Hehe, that was funny. The fact that you cant play with Arrow keys and the forced full screen made it very difficult to play on an AZERTY keyboard ( couldnt change the keyboard language mode for this because of the fullscreen). But cool art and I can see how you could use those 3 simple spells for a lot of nice game mechanics.

karlin says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 3:13am

@blob Sorry about that,

I've just uploaded a new version at http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2012/12/20/unsave-the-princess-post-mortem-post-compo-status-01/ which supports the arrow keys for movement, numpad 0,1,2 & 3 for choosing spells and ctrl to restart from the last checkpoint.

Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:15am

Perfect small game.

feili says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:59am

Awesome little game! :D

Dec 21, 2012 @ 10:53am

Fun game! Neat little abilities, and it's great to feel largely unrestricted in their use.

fishbrain says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 11:01am

Excellent! Nicely done - really enjoyed the graphics and style. There seemed to be a bug(?) with the tiles on the first level (they all had small black lines around the outside).

ArkadyDracul says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:14pm

Great game, seriously!

nilstastic says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:47pm

Good: Excellent graphics and good gameplay. I (naturally) like that you can change the level. Also, awesome clouds!
Improve: I think there was some grahical glitches (as you stated).

Atomic says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 1:03am

Cool mechanics, reminds me of Trine. I'd certainly play a more complete version with the bugs ironed out. Bugs: tile borders showing up everywhere, when you die the previsouly spawned fireballs are still there.

Gornova says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 3:29pm

it's too easy, I mean there is a more difficult mode? Anyway a good platformer!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]