December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Sicarius

by TeamQuadratic - Jam Entry

Hello! Sicarius is Team Quadratic's 3rd Ludum Dare game. All resources in this game are ours. Created in Game Maker.

Note: There are some bugs and glitches, and the AI is a little lacking, but all in all its a fun game. Enjoy!

Team Members:
Wizered67 - Programming
Pandadog123 - Art and Ideas
Hoovyscoot - Art
Viper1044 - Level Design
Kayfon - Music and Audio

Note: Once you get to the screen with the controls, hit Esc or close the window to continue.

Update: I now have a web version up for those that want to try it but don't have windows or don't want to download it. The only significant change in the web version is the controls which I modified. Also, I can no longer display the controls in game on the web version, so they'll be below. Enjoy!

Controls:
WASD to move
F to attack
Hold G to enter focus mode. While in focus mode, everyone else moves slowly
Space to navigate through the comic and stuff

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness83%
#188Theme(Jam)3.15
#199Audio(Jam)2.49
#231Humor(Jam)2.13
#254Graphics(Jam)2.54
#269Mood(Jam)2.32
#282Innovation(Jam)2.22
#293Fun(Jam)2.12
#297Overall(Jam)2.37

Comments

Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:06pm

The graphics and process are really fun, nice stealth realization. Extra score for awesome comic strip! :)

Devenger says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:36pm

How do I continue past the instructions screen? No buttons seem apparent, nor does keyboard mashing appear to help.

Devenger says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:44pm

Stealth mechanics are far too frustrating - either not explained well enough, or just inconsistent.

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:18am

Nice comic intro; but the mouse for attack was a little wonky for me. I would have just liked an extra key on the keyboard to attack.

lando walters says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:34am

Looks like a good idea, but I couldnt seem to kill a single guard :P

TeamQuadratic says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:38am

Thanks for the comments everyone! Just a tip for anyone playing, if you're not already, use focus mode to your advantage when killing the guards so that you can catch up to them faster.

mcc says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:25am

this could've been cool, but the controls were super awkward and made it too frustrating to kill any guards for me

dek says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:39am

I had a hard time dealing with the controls. Other than that, I think its promising!

Alex Rose says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 3:39am

The comic strip was absolutely awesome, really enjoyed it.

The AI was a bit mean though, it always seemed to find me exactly as I was about to stab it if I came from the side.

Cool entry though.

brantkings says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 3:41am

Good. I had some fun. But the stealth mechanics are really frustating and unknown.

moomoo112 says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:04am

the attack button should not have been the mouse button..

Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:38am

Interesting take on the stealth theme. The collisions and enemy detections can be a bit unforgiving at times; the characters big head will often prevent the player from entering tight corridors, sometimes preventing him from getting away in a timely manner. Additionally, it seems fairly counter-intuitive that a guard will notice you if you attempt to shank him but miss, but you need to be pretty much overlapping the guard in order to successfully shank him.

Other than that, there's potentiality for a solid top-down stealth game.

TeamQuadratic says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 5:12am

Thanks again for the comments. We're planning on adding on o the game and fixing some stuff up afterwards, so we'll be sure to take your suggestions into consideration. Since we've already received a lot of feedback on the controls, we'll be sure to change those up. Thanks again everyone!

youdonotexist says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 2:37am

@TeamQuadratic: Is it possible to get a Web/Mac build?

TyrusPeace says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 4:24am

The kill range on the weapon is very strange, and it's non-obvious that it results in the guards attacking you. My main issue was the collision detection with the level itself, though. There were a few spots that seemed to be invisible walls.

This is still a cool stealth game, though! With a bit more speed and more obvious mechanics (like a dashing stab so that there's a bigger range and more obvious reason to be noticed, for example) I can see it being a cool arcade experience.

Nice gameplay and art, overall!

evilseanbot says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 7:32am

I didn't understand what the objective was, but hey other stealth games niiiiccceeee. Also good job in the comic, but the text is hard to read sometimes. Maybe use an outline next time?

Spelchan says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 11:49pm

Liked the idea. Found the actual game play a bit too difficult. Instead of holding down the keyboard to go into focus, I would have it start focus and you stay in focus for a few seconds. Likewise having to use the mouse for attacking didn't make sense and could have easily been another key. Guards moved a bit too quickly, especially when they were turning around right when you were about to stab them.

zkenshin says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 9:53pm

Not bad, but I found the movement of the player to be a bit awkward.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]