December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Joe, the bad jack! (HTML5)

by sletari - 48 Hour Compo Entry

For a lumberjack, destroying the forest is the rule. This is not different for Joe, the bad jack! Help him to destroy a forest facing the resistance of indians, what can be more evil than that?!

Control with arrows or WASD, attack with space.

The game is HTML5, built with CraftyJS. Tested on Chrome and Firefox, but probably works with Safari as well.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#105Humor3.38
#223Fun3.14
#304Overall3.10
#365Theme3.21
#385Audio2.35
#418Mood2.68
#497Graphics2.62
#508Innovation2.55

Comments

CMaster says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:10pm

Entertaining. I ended up as an avenging ghost mind, charging through the woods, and killing the -3 men left to defeat.

Geoege says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:21pm

Ahah it was pretty fun, really liked the -10 people i killed and the -2 lives ;)

sletari says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:55pm

Hahaha, thanks. Yep, I was working on the ending when the time was over, so I couldn't solve this quirk. It's a shame because what happens at the end is not very clear, but since it's not a crash I don't think it's fair to publish a fix for the compo

metadept says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:56pm

Surprisingly fun! Even the killer ghost ending somehow added rather than detracted from the experience. If you make a post-compo version, I recommend keeping some version of this bug, maybe a flying ghost chopping down an infinite forest...

Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:33pm

Really enjoyable game and cool graphics/sound effects. I couldn't deduce what was happening at the end though, is it intentional that a tree slams you down?

joekinley says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:35pm

Yay awesome ghost killer hunter axe man killing -10 people and chopping -3 trees. That was a fun experience. But pressing 5 to play again did not result in anything.

By the way, your link says Windows, but I hacked the system and was able to play it on my MacBook on OSX ;) ... better change it so people know they can play it on another system.

Awesome game, had a lot of fun. Was humorous and fun.

sletari says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:38pm

@BarrensZeppelin yes, that's what you get for being a villain! Unfortunately I lacked the time to make it clearer.

@metadept indeed, this is giving some positive feedback! A ghost would be a good idea, thanks

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:41pm

This was fun but I can't seem to get beyond the last couple of knights to earn my prize. Is there some strategy? Pressing 5 resulted in a broken screen.

LogGiant says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:49pm

For some reason I really like how the trees fell, but im not sure why. The timing to kill indians seemed a bit odd, but it was still entertaining for sure!

sletari says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:55pm

@joekinley I updated the link to Web instead of Windows, thanks!

@joekinley @zenmumbler yes, the 5 button bugged out, you think it's ok if I fix this?

Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:02pm

Take that you stupid trees!

Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:39pm

A nice quick and fun game. Running around as a vengeful spirit after I died was pretty hilarious, even if it wasn't intended.

Ludonaut says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:32pm

Ghost mode is so cool, haha.

Wuhao says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 3:25am

hey pretty fun game, i like how when you died, you can still hack people lol

sanojian says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:56pm

Wow the end is hard. Sometimes you get hit before the new screen is done transitions, which is unfortunate. Overall very fun!

gnx says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:58pm

3rd lumberjack-themed game I've come across, I guess they must be evil :D
Gameplay is very entertaining and satisfying. Graphics are ok and sound effects too. The only thing lacking is some good fighting music.

Spelchan says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 9:53pm

Enjoyable game. Not sure why the hate for lumber-jacks, though in this case he was also a murderer. Liked how the trees fell, especially when they took out enemies. Really poor ending sequence. I think I get what you were going for in the ending but sadly I think the deadline beat you there.

fishbrain says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 3:47pm

Cool! Very much retro fun!

sletari says ...
Jan 11, 2013 @ 7:18pm

Hi, thanks for your feedback! I've made a post-compo version in case you're interested: http://jhcp.github.com/LD25

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]