December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Dig Dastardly

by luke161 - Jam Entry

Dig a tunnel from your hideout to the bank, steal the loot and carry it back again! Head back and forth between the Bank and your hideout to gather more.

Watch out for hidden bombs and the police invading your tunnel. Gold you collect from the bank won't be added to your score until you reach your hideout. Bombs and Ladders restock when you return home.

Team
-----
Luke Holland (@luke161) - Code
Chris Cox (@paperCaves) - Art & Music

Controls
-------
Move - Arrow keys/WASD
Dig - Space (dig direction set with Move controls)
Plant bomb - E
Create Ladder - Q

Made as a part of the Preloaded LD48 game jam in London. Our first Ludum Dare entry and my first ever game jam. Had a great time participating, I'm sure we'll be doing more in the future! Built with Unity 3.5. Hope you enjoy :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#27Graphics(Jam)4.27
#44Overall(Jam)3.66
#46Fun(Jam)3.45
#52Mood(Jam)3.44
#86Audio(Jam)3.32
#107Theme(Jam)3.55
#121Innovation(Jam)3.08
#182Humor(Jam)2.47

Comments

amassingham says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:08am

Can't seem to play it, just says to install the Unity web player - which I have. Are you sure it's correctly embedded?

Unity website says I have:
Version of your web player
Unity Plugin version:4.0.1f1
Unity Engine version:3.5.7f6

Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:24am

this is a really nice and clean presentation. The art is nicely polished and fun. Overall pretty great

NostraDamon says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:38am

I encounter the same problem with the web player.

Stryphe says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:03am

I am asked to install the web player as well.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:27am

Solid gameplay and controls, but those bombs frustrated the hell out of me ;P

DaGamesta says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:37am

Fantastic game you got here. It looks nice and stylized and is generally fun to play. It could benefit from some less randomized level design though.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:32am

Very fun to play actually, but i dont get at the end what i have to do at the bank

luke161 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:37am

Sorry about the trouble some of you are having with the web player. It looks like an issue with using Chrome + Dropbox + Unity. Hopefully it's fixed now but if anyone's still having trouble please shout! :)

Peping says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:01am

Once played, the game loses its appeal. It is not very challenging. Despite having 3D graphics, the visual experience could be better.

lucky.luddite says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:17am

I also couldn't figure out what do to once at the bank. Nice game title :)

Razion says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:21am

Well polished! Plays smoothly. Clever gameplay. Controls were a little awkward, however. Great job!

nickworks says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:56am

Bravo! A very nice game. I wasn't sure how to carry the safe back though.

grouchotron says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:37am

Also couldn't figure out what I should do once I reached the bank. But nice visual style and music!

luke161 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:48am

Once you get to the bank your loot fills up, you then need to carry it back through your tunnel to the start. Keep repeating to build up your score :)

fishbrain says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:00am

I couldn't figure out what to do when i got to the bank?...
Nice little game, great presentation and graphics, could do with some enemies(?) and some level design enhancements.

SiENcE says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:30am

Wow very nice Gamemechanic. The graphic style is perfect for this game and it's well polished!

Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:21am

Very well polished, good job!

KWL_TW says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:42am

Plays well, good job.
But how to carry the safe?

1CoinTeam says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:54am

Great art style, very attractive and clean. The gameplay is simple but very polished and clean. Good job :)

killmonday says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:14pm

I got hooked on this! Fun concept, would like to see more of it!

SunShiranui says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:52pm

Very good game! Love the art style. Well done!

Ithildin says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:08pm

Nice work! Art and music look quite polished, and gameplay is really fun :)

Maristak says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:48pm

Wery well composed. It was fun playing and the graphics are just amazing. Well done

technobeanie says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:23pm

I really like the music and the graphics! Good job! But, like the others, I didn't know what to do when I got to the bank. I went back to the beginning, and then my original path was gone. So I build a new one, and then got back home. I didn't realized if I got points or not. So, I didn't know if I did the right thing... It's really confusing.
I understand that this is a game jam so, for the concept, the art, and the possibilities, I'll say it's all pretty cool! Awesome job guys!

emveyh says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:18pm

Awesome! The idea on how to get to bank is really great. And when you finally get there you have to fight your way back. That was really fun :D The art style is pretty and the music is awesome. The only thing that's missing are some cool sound effects :)

Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:33pm

Very very cool! Lovely cute graphic. I'd like a more grid-like explosion, so I know where not to stand.

And a more intuitive control scheme. I get it having to press a key to build a ladder, but why not just dig to the right, like digDug or boulder dash?

Full marks, this is awesome

AhNinniah says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:18pm

Nice looking game! Good idea, sound and mechanics.

RosyPenguin says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:30pm

I am loving this art style: it's cute, minimal, and consistent! I think the bank confusion came from the feedback the player receives upon reaching the bank. I expected to carry it over my head or see it disappear. Though I noticed the second time through that there was a "loot collected, now carry it home" message. Overall, a neat and polished experience. Great job!

alwaysinbeta says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:48pm

Really nice gameplay. Seemed to be a bug where it didn't detect that you got home to your safe after robbing the bank. Would have liked to try more levels.

Justin Kibbe says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:56pm

I love these kind of games. I got stuff from the bank, but I don't know what to do with it afterwards.

Mava says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:05pm

Nice art and was fun to play, well done :)

Dig mechanic is nice and simple too.

Floko says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:09pm

that was pretty entertaining =]

Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:41pm

Very cool visuals. I liked it. I couldn't tell if I was picking up the loot or not, or if there was a special button to do that ? Maybe make that a little more clear. I saw the gold vault, but I couldn't figure out how to pick it up. I liked this.

luke161 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:48pm

Thank you all for the great feedback :) We need to work on the messaging a bit!!

When you enter the vault you automatically collect the loot (you should see the number increment in the top left) then when you get back home this is deposited in your own safe. The idea is to keep going back and forth collecting as much as you can as it gets more manic in the tunnels. We're gunna work on it more for sure :D

Alex Rose says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:14pm

Really cool, the music in particular is great. It could be a bit harder though.

Having said that, I did end up playing for ages just to see if I could completely fill the map with ladders.

I think it'd be cooler if there more perma spawned blocks near the top middle so you couldn't just fill 2 rows on top of each other with ladders and walk across the top row. Alternatively if there were ceiling walkers, or flying monsters that'd put a bit more challenge into it, since you can just walk on the top ladder.

But yeah, most comments I leave are way shorter than this, and that's a sign of how good your game is. I actually played it for a good while. I'm really impressed. Graphics and sound are lovely.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:07pm

I think it's kind of too easy. It seems only one police per robbery will spawn, which means the difficulty will raise slowly. In fact, with your bombs you can just kill them, and thus "lower" the difficulty.

Other than that, it's still a solid and fun game, so you still get a "great job" from me. ;)

Vennril says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:58pm

It was fun to play and I really liked the art style. Well done :)

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:00pm

While overall pretty great, it took me a while to realize that the numbers at the top right were the loot indicators, after I looted the bank and got home I was expecting some kind of new level or popup with "Good job!" etc... I had to read the comments to realize that I just had to keep going back and forth on the same level.

The enemy spawning, block regenerating, and all the mechanics work really well to make a challenging but not impossible experience. Really polished feel for the most part.

Nicely done!

amassingham says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:01am

Great game, got it working eventually - thanks!
Glad I managed to play it.

degtyarev says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:58am

Very polished and funny game i love it!

_Rilem says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:39pm

Really like the graphics. It took me a while to figure out that my score was getting higher just by walking back and forth from the bank to my save.
The game controls work nice also.
Overall really impressed with what you were able to do in this short amount of time :)

Codexus says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 6:58pm

Very nice game, fun and good production values. It just needs some ramping up of difficulty.

daredevildave says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 7:29pm

Lovely, straightforward mechanics, great graphics, nice tune.
As noted elsewhere it's a little confusing the first time you get to the bank. But once I got that it was plain sailing.

TijmenTio says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 7:47pm

It looks good and the gameplay feels nice, but I wasn't too sure what to do at the bank at first and after I figured that out the game became a bit simple and it didn't seem to have a clear end to it.

OrangeeZ says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 7:50pm

Well done! Graphics are great, and gameplay is nice and fast-paced.

Patacorow says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 10:09pm

Gameplay gets too repetitive but the design is gorgeous!!!!

Spacehunter says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 12:43am

Nice game! Somewhat addicting to me! Good job!

Gornova says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 10:48am

works fine for me! nice and polished, get out of ladder too soon and first play :D

i love music :D

Gungnir says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 7:02pm

Nice work, has potential :)

Sestren says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 11:13am

Cool action-puzzle game with some very nice graphics. The controls felt a bit rough around the edges at times, but overall, it's pretty fun to play. Great job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]