December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Mortal Fear

by TDRGames - Jam Entry

Three vampire clans have come to town...

The charming Strigoi with speed and persuasion.

The murderous Moroi with ultra-violence!

... and you, the Vicari, a little of everything.

And also the mortals... for your dining pleasure :)

Your goal: eliminate both rival clans.

Beware the rising sun... any vampire not on a safe tile at daybreak will get one hell of a sunburn.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#88Audio(Jam)3.30
#118Theme(Jam)3.51
#125Graphics(Jam)3.46
#128Innovation(Jam)3.06
#132Mood(Jam)2.97
#248Overall(Jam)2.67
#280Humor(Jam)1.82
#302Fun(Jam)2.03

Comments

TDRGames says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:21am

Congratulations to all Ludum Dare 25 teams!

DaGamesta says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:39am

Good graphics, good programming, good music, and decent sounds. But the gameplay design... could use work. Don't get me wrong, I love the idea of creating a vampire army and fighting other vampire armies, but it was somewhat slow paced and I'm not the biggest fan of the interface. Good job, though, putting this together in 72 hours is tough!

zatyka says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:53am

I didn't quite understand how the weapons range worked. I was getting hit by police who were not near me... and I couldn't tell if I was actually shooting one of them. It seems like it has potential. Dear gawd!

Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:02am

I liked the home made music. Pretty cool gameplay, but I found myself frustrated with the controls. I wish the guys I bit just fought for me on their own, or atleast tried to defend themselves. I was also confused what to do when there was sunlight. Overall, I think this is a really good start to what could be a great game. Also loved the using of a giant canvas.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:41am

was a little confusing at first on what to do but definitely nice work.

Gazok says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:11am

The game looked really cool, but the controls didn't work for me at all. They seemed like they might be difficult anyway? But whenever I right-clicked (I think that's how you move?) it opened a context menu.

OU GDA says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:50am

confusing interface. i couldn't figure out how to do anything. cool art and concept though

robashton says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:07pm

Yo, if you're looking for HTML5 games - check out http://blog.jeroenverfallie.com/posts/155-bbgs-48-hours.html which is what I'm using to find games to review :-0

TDRGames says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:02pm

Yeah, halfway through the compo we started to rethink the controls & scrolling, but we ran out of time. Oh well, we'll get it right in v1.0. Glad y'all like the music though!

@robashton - thanks for the tip!

Manest says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:26pm

gameplay is not realy clear. But love the graphism

Casino Jack says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:55pm

Music and sounds are very nice, but it did take me a while to actually find my guys - think everything could use a little more contrast to help stand out a bit.

JoeCool17 says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:27am

*waaay* too much to control at once- it might be better if we could group their actions or something, or everything happened in turns, but it's just not fun scrolling a lot, especially if you don't have a side-scrolling mouse (like most people) That being said, I love the artwork and the concept- definitely different. I also liked the music

sev_inf says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:24pm

Very promising game, but as others said controls needs redesigning. Can't wait to see the post-compo version.

mikemacdee says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 1:22am

i can't even tell where the hell i AM...

Jiddo says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 10:44am

Nice idea, but the controls are very annoying. The fact that it's just a huge website that you have to scroll around on is inconvenient to say the least. Also, seems like if you just leave your guys on a safe tile for a while and then come back to the game everyone will have died somehow and there will essentially only be cops left.

The graphics was quite nice tho! A polished version of the game could be interesting to try.

Robotic says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 5:11pm

Too slow paced, but cool idea and nice mood you created

sclark39 says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 5:42pm

Good graphics & audio, but I didn't have a clue what to do and the game screen was about 4x larger than my browser window.

Rialgar says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 1:36am

Great, I like this one very much, some little suggetions for further greatness:

1. I could not really see the interface, because it left my screen when I scrolled.
2. create a minimap with my vampires highlighted.
3. more contrast, at least to the icons/badges.
4. add a daytime display
5. introduce some easy scrolling, like click+drag or moving the mouse to the edges of the screen
6. Improve the AI, the other clans just got themselfes killed by the police
7. introduce some micro-management assistance, like simple AI or group actions
8. make it more clear what to do at day, I had a hard time figuring out those "save-tiles" thats just beacause its so great I cannot stop thinking about it XD

Hm, quite a lot suggestions... but

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]