December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Devon

by 100GPing100 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The assets don't look very good and there are only two levels.

You can tell it's unfinished, but I had fun making it :D

Story (Didn't have time to add a screen with this):
You're a teenager called Devon who dislikes beautiful and cute things, so you went in a quest to kill all the cute slimes, infect the earth and get some gold in the process.

NOTE: I've created the game in windows, but since it's java I suppose it can run on other operating systems (didn't use any libraries) therefore the Windows build should run on Linux and OS/X

TIME-LAPSE: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bObm9GRUA6A

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#524Audio1.79
#541Humor2.04
#689Mood2.00
#711Graphics1.87
#744Theme1.83
#751Overall2.03
#755Fun1.68
#761Innovation1.52

Comments

robashton says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:50pm

I'm not sure if it's me, but the zip is empty when I download it

100GPing100 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:59pm

I downloaded it and it was ok, a friend of mine also downloaded and he played it so I guess his download was fine.

I don't know what the problem might be.

I've uploaded it as a rar file to media fire:
http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?2r729yeqr0vz16i

robashton says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:13pm

Thanks, giving it a go

robashton says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:17pm

Okay, I managed to get it running but the collision detection is a bit wobbly and he gets stuck quite easily.

Still, it's a working game and I can run around and collect gold and kill things so I'm happy!

100GPing100 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:24pm

Thanks :D

I forgot to add a step into collision so when you collide with something your position is only fixed in one coordinate and the other one is left unchanged, this can get you stuck.

I really am disappointed for not being able to have put in the score system, you would get the score screen after each level and the level transition wouldn't be less "wtf just happened". It would also give some objective to the game.

Next time I shouldn't go to the cinema in the 48Hours lol

agmcleod says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:32pm

Hello, I tried running the .jar file on OSX, and I got a stack trace :(. I understand that it might be tricky for you to fix without having the platform, but incase it helps and you have time: http://pastie.org/5542719

100GPing100 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:45pm

It seems you do not have the required java version (J2SE 7).

Download and install Java SE 7u10 (JRE) from:
http://www.oracle.com/technetwork/java/javase/downloads/jre7-downloads-1880261.html

Neonlare says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:50pm

Not too shabby, some of the hit detection is off but it feels all right for the most part. Good work~

Atomic says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:53pm

Love the slime graphics and the title screen. Sounds are OK. Gameplay is very buggy and unstable but I managed to finish it.

100GPing100 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:54pm

I agree, collision detection could be improved, but I really didn't have enough time to do so. Had fun making it thought! :D

Gemberkoekje says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:55pm

Does seem quite buggy, unfortunately.

- I died before I really knew what was going on.
- When restarting, I ended up on the same place as I was, but then much higher, and I fell for like 10 seconds.
- When restarting again, it didn't restart at all...
- I think the speed was too high, it was too difficult to see what was going on rly. But I don't like fast-paced platformgames to begin with so maybe personal taste.
- You should consider practicing on your pixel art. Don't get me wrong, mine looks rubbish also, but it may be good to work on it :)

100GPing100 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:44pm

I agree. I practiced pixel art before the ludum begun and sometimes I can create decent things, but I take too much time to do it xD

maiev says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:51pm

Got it running no problems but the game was somewhat buggy. Managed to finish the game after a few tries; nice platformer. Can be great if the bugs are ironed out and art was more consistent (even simple polygons can look great if everything fits).

-On the start screen, sometimes it doesn't run when I press enter. It takes a few tries before i get into the game
-If you jump on an enemy sometimes you propels you really really far.
-The screen shakes constantly (not sure if intentional) and same with enemy bodies.
-Sometimes when I die I get stuck with no way to do anything.

100GPing100 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:52pm

On the starting screen: You have to click inside the window because the canvas doesn't acquire focus automatically.

The jumping high is because you both kill the enemy and he deals damage to you, it is easily fixable, but I didn't have the time.

The screen shaking is because of the dirty physics system I implemented.

The handling of the players death was thrown in at the last minute and thus I didn't test it much, I'm sorry :(

I know the game isn't even mediocre, I wasted quite some time on Saturday :/

Cosmologicon says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:37am

I'm on Linux and I downloaded the source but I don't know how to go about compiling it (not too familiar with Java). Do you think you could include either a Makefile or a jar?

100GPing100 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:56am

The "Devon" folder inside "Source" is an Eclipse project which means you're able to compile it in Eclipse.

I never really got into studying and using makefiles, so I really don't know how to make one :/
I can't really create the jar file because I've worked on the game after releasing it :S

If you install Eclipse and open the project you'll be able to compile it though (to run the game from inside eclipse, to debug it, you need to add the data folder as a class folder and go through all the files and change all the strings that are paths to files and remove "/data", this because the executable jar I compiled to release wasn't working right with the resources being inside the file).

MaTX says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:09pm

There is something wrong with the hitboxes of the character, and the game is super buggy (it does not work if I restart after dieing). It's a nice start that you could polish to get something more ;)

100GPing100 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:52pm

@MaTX Yes, I know. All of the bugs have been fixed in post production. There are more features too now! :p

angela says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:20am

little buggy, but Yay! I won :)

naufr4g0 says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:24am

mmm this game needs a strong debugging! It could be interesting if it were more polished. Anyway I completed it. :)

raincole says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 5:13am

The enemies are much smarter than mushrooms in Mario lol

SuperDisk says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 10:58pm

While definitely unfinished like you said, the idea was pretty neat. There was some bugginess though, like dead slimes 'attacking' but it was fun

100GPing100 says ...
Dec 31, 2012 @ 12:26am

The dead enemy attacking was a failure in optimization. I assigned the same instance of an enemy sprite class to all the enemies which means they would share the same frame, therefore killing an enemy makes them all show the dead sprite.

KevinWorkman says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 3:57am

This is a cute little game! There were some small glitches as others have mentioned- the display is a bit shakey because you're constantly checking collision with the floor, getting hit by an enemy apparently sent me flying off into space, and when I restart after dying I respawn to where I left off, which immediately ends the game again.

But you have a working game and a nice platforming engine that you can build from, so great job!

By the way, if you're looking for a better host than dropbox, you might want to check out the free Java hosting I offer at http://StaticVoidGames.com. Either way, nice work!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]