About | Rules and Guide
Construction1990’s Internet Montage? No!
Please excuse the site weirdness. Mike is fixing and making things.
Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014!

  • ??? Begins: in 7 days, 15 hours, 56 minutes, 54 seconds
  • October Ends: in 8 days, 16 hours, 8 minutes, 54 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 43 days, 16 hours, 56 minutes, 54 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)

    [ October Challenge 2014 | Resources | Submit/Edit | View All ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Cruel World Of Business - horrorpen - Jam Entry

    Those kids are stealing all of your customers... Show them who's really in charge of the lemonade business and how cruel life can be sometimes when you are dealing with a villain.

    This is the first time we entered Ludum Dare. This is not a big game. We all managed to complete it in 2-3 tries.

    You can control the character with keyboard arrows. You need to jump on a kid to get rid of him. To go to the next level, you need to get rid of all the kids and their lemonade stands.
    Pressing down while jumping will get rid of more than one kid. You can dodge kid's attack by jumping on solid objects.

    Have fun!

    View horrorpen's journal. | View all entries by horrorpen

    Ratings

    #25Humor(Jam)3.67
    #50Graphics(Jam)4.04
    #67Fun(Jam)3.32
    #69Overall(Jam)3.46
    #97Mood(Jam)3.19
    #120Theme(Jam)3.50
    #154Audio(Jam)2.86
    #249Innovation(Jam)2.48
    #742Coolness46%

    Comments

    Mava says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:01pm

    Nice graphics and it feels fun too!

    nolacoaster says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:03pm

    Love the graphics/drawings. Very artistic, and stylish.

    Hazel says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:03pm

    Really nice touches, love the graphics.

    joekinley says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:05pm

    Great game actually. Only it was really hard because the hitbox of the character was very big, and i kept being hit by the flying garbage pretty often although the character itself were not hit directly but just his hitbox.

    Though overall you made a great game with awesome graphics and audio, awesome humor and a nice approach on the theme, with the big dude getting rid of little childrens lemonade stands.
    I had fun playing it, just that it was pretty hard. Good work.

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:07pm

    Amazing graphics, really love them. But I wonder... what if you had turned the kids into more cute poor innocent things being crashed by an old senile guy ?

    I mean... why the hell is this guy selling lemonade, isn't he too old for that ?

    Anyway, that was really fun to play, I loved the bounce "effect". Well done !

    cwilloughby says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:21am

    This game is amazing.

    I love the way he jumps. I love the sound. Bouncing from person to person is very fun. Nice work.

    killmonday says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:50pm

    Lovely art direction! +stars for killing children!

    Peping says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:34pm

    A funny game. I love the art.
    Losing two lives at one time is a bit harsh, but the game was fun to play nevertheless.

    Elisée says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:50am

    Destroying the lemonade stands bit by bit was satisfying :D and I liked the light-hearted approach to the theme regarding the lemonade market.

    Avoiding the thrown objects was kind of hard and I think it would have been more fun if there was some way to duck or shield yourself rather than having to jump from one object to another to stay out of the line of fire.

    When dying on a level, you probably shouldn't make the player restart from scratch for Ludum Dare entries: most people won't go through the hurdle of replaying all the previous levels just to see what comes next (we made that mistake in our #24 entry ourselves)

    ahmed.majd says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:20pm

    The graphics are nice, but i think it's just another platformer like many others.
    Sorry for that question but what happen if i changed the seller spirte by mario's sprite and the kids by turtles?
    the lonely strengh of the game is the graphics unfortunlatly

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:37pm

    haha this is fun!! kudos horrorpen!

    horrorpen says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 3:31pm

    @ahmed.majd

    And what about the story line?

    zkenshin says ...
    Jan 6, 2013 @ 2:22am

    Well done. :)

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]