December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Super Villains, LLC

by Monxcleyr Productions - Jam Entry

On a quest to join the prestigious but dwindling ranks of the Super Villains, LLC, the player is tasked with figuring out how best to cause the most chaos and destruction in their small, rural town.

Source requires Python 2.7 and Pygame.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#67Theme(Jam)3.77
#112Audio(Jam)3.15
#124Humor(Jam)2.79
#153Innovation(Jam)2.93
#190Overall(Jam)2.90
#229Mood(Jam)2.56
#242Fun(Jam)2.43
#263Graphics(Jam)2.47

Comments

dark_hunter says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:23am

Fun game. Could use some tooltips when you select an action.

Peping says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:34am

As soon as I run the game, I knew I'd like it. The theme song, the humor in the letters, the fact that I like turn-based games... What I didn't like was that the actions I could do were not explicitly written as text. I found myself constantly opening the "abilities tab" effectively stopping me from selecting another scene of mischief. Other than that, this game is really good.

Madball says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:45am

A nice game, but confusing. What is "Decay"? Why do I something use ability with big awareness and it decreases?

Gungnir says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:47am

Nice idea.
As mentioned, this could use a lot more feedback on the abilities.

Alex Rose says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:52am

The opening is slick but a tad too long. Felt like turning on an old Rare game.

I like the music, sounds a bit, reminds me of the Harry Potter soundtrack.

The game was mildly confusing but entertaining nonetheless.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:53am

Thanks so much for the feedback!
Regarding some of the confusion - tooltips were something we planned from the start but had to drop due to time constraints. They will definitely be in a post-jam update.

I hope you check it out, and thanks again!

moomoo112 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:30am

is it possible to win? I cannot get my chaos percentage above 50% with no awareness..

lorancou says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:42am

A nice packaging around a game that might be a bit too simple. I just clicked at random abilities and I managed to win on my first run, not too sure why... Love the music though, fits the theme perfectly!

Klakwa says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:13am

It's pretty cool. At first it was confusing to find out what each ability does (it would be better to describe them briefly rather than just having numbers) but when I found out what's going on it was pretty fun. Nice work !

HeXoT says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:47pm

As I entered the music catchd me :)

hissssssssss says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:18am

As others have mentioned, a bit more explanation in-game might go a long way. It was hard to understand why awareness went up or down. If abilities that needed to cooldown turned a different color, I wouldn't have been clicking on numbers and wondering why I couldn't queue them.
Still, I loved the concept.

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:53am

Quite fun once you start understanding how it all works, I agree with most of the other comments about maybe a bit more description. Though discovering what it all does is a tad exciting :D

wzl says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:00am

The interface is confusing since it lacks icons and descriptions. It would have been helpful to be able to pick the abilities directly from the ability screen. The idea seems novel though and has potential if you'd be shown the impact of your actions in the game :D

Here is your review good sir: http://ldmr.wzl.vg/#Monxcleyr

pighead10 says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:33pm

I failed :( There could have been some tooltips on the abilities or some icons so I knew what I was using without having to refer to the menu. Some extra clarity was needed in the graphics so I could actually tell what was what, and some graphical effects would have been nice. Gameplay was mainly fun though. Nice take on the theme.

Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:22am

I looked at the stats screen and kinda lost my mind. I love complex games but I require a proper manual ;)

Ace says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 11:39am

Very nice game, the letters were fun too. Felt like the abilities and gameplay were added in the last second though, considering how polished the graphical parts are compared to the rest of the game.

bentog says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 5:34pm

It's a good idea, but it's hard to know what you are doing. It should be a bit more self explaining.

Spelchan says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 5:21am

I like the certificate of villainy that you get when you win. Definitely hit the theme. Needs better summary of what you accomplished. Perhaps newspaper clippings?

OU GDA says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 3:37am

Really catchy music. The game mechanic of causing destruction was interesting but there was a disconnect on what you were actually doing and the harm done to the town. Maybe some icons for the different ways to attack would be helpful so you don't have to go back and look at the cheat sheet. Also, maybe some changes in the actual town would be nice. Fun game though, and glad I got accepted at the end ^__^

RawBits says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 12:38am

So, all I understand is there are numbers at the bottom when I click on a building. If I click on them then they are appear on the right. I can pick 2 numbers but not all of them can be picked. Click on turn and awareness goes down and I get points. In 15 days it's not enough to get into the Super Villains LLC. And that's all. Oh, and there are many typos in the texts.

StMatn says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 1:55am

Pretty nice game. The music was really cool! Good job

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]