December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Asterion's House

by glbs - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Play Asterion (The MINAUTOR)
You found yourself chilling out in the core of your unhomely big house.
Until some people try to take you down, try to Escape!

instructions : take the knights from behind,
follow their Ariadne's thread to escape,
use arrow keys to move.

This is really a sandBox version, no sound, and actually submitted 1 min before the count down!
This is the first game i made, and i ran into countless problems, tilemap errors but the experience was great!

Thanks for playing it!



Made with flixel. Use arrow keys to move.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#603Innovation2.35
#636Mood2.22
#640Humor1.75
#653Graphics2.13
#683Theme2.26
#716Overall2.19
#751Fun1.71

Comments

glbs says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:38am

ARROW KEYS TO MOVE

Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:17am

I don't know what i need to do.

patricklorio says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:20am

I have no idea what is going on. When I hit some knight looking characters they either die, spass out, or crash the game.

glbs says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:54am

you have to take the knights from behind to kill them and try to follow their trail to escape. (There's actually an tiny ending)

zompi says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:15pm

Ok... I have no idea what to do with that :/

rumachine says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:30pm

Nice first game!

jfroco says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:15pm

Hahaha.. now I understood why you said you love the theme in my entry. I really liked the idea of killing knights from behind. Hope you dedicate more time to finish the game as the game frozen when I was playing.

jfroco says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:16pm

... and contratulations for finishing your first game.

MvT says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:51pm

I haven't understant what is the red line, you might do some sprites for caracters. :)

rylgh says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:50pm

the line system is quite neat :)

01010111 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:53pm

Great job on your first game! Making your first game for Ludum Dare was a bold move :) I loved your sprites!

Manuel777 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:13am

Meh, could be better executed, but the idea was good

PapyGaragos says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:17pm

crashed my browser twice (an enemy got stuck in a wall both times)

Husky says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:15pm

Oh my...
Play to half and crashed, the using browser is IE.

Maple says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:49pm

Uhh, I'll be honest, for a good portion of the time, I had no idea what the hell I was doing. I had to read the comments before I knew. And by the time I had killed about 3 knights, the game was somehow getting laggy as fuck. Then I reached what seemed to be the bottom left of the map and there was a knight stuck in the wall... and the game then froze.

In terms of atmosphere, it was confusing rather than engaging sorry to say. The controls were smooth though, and the appearance was presentable enough, and there is no audio to talk about.... Overall it was pretty okay, but lacking in reason to play, and quite a bit unstable.

~Spaceoff

lucasncv says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:44pm

Could be a nice game if not for the bugs! Congratz for your first game!

mrspeaker says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 2:48am

With your tile collision detection, check the x and y movement separately so you can slide along the walls (you don't just stop dead) - then it'll feel heaps more smooth. Google "collision detection slide along walls"!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]