December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

killCity

by DST - 48 Hour Compo Entry

killCity postmortem here:
http://dustedgames.blogspot.dk/2012/12/so-i-just-finished-gave-up-my-first.html

Did you find the beautiful goat?

If you want to use another resolution, start the game with X Y and if you want fullscreen, add f. On windows:
killCity_x86.exe 2560 1440 f
Linux: killCity_x86.bin 800 600 f
And so on.

If you are on a Mac, you can play the Windows version of killCity in WINE. ( http://wiki.winehq.org/MacOSX/FAQs )

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness93%
#392Humor2.42
#464Graphics2.71
#516Audio1.84
#532Theme2.82
#573Innovation2.42
#629Fun2.22
#629Overall2.49
#639Mood2.21

Comments

DST says ...
Dec 16, 2012 @ 5:58pm

Oh, And there is of cause a goat in the game, but you will have to earn the privilege to gaze at it. Also, there is NOTHING wrong with gazing at a goat.

jsmars says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:34pm

Good job! Needs some polish and more levels.. would be fun to play with keys instead of mouse too

juaxix says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:37pm

Uhm, love the particles. The game is simple, the code is neat , graphics are clean...well done my friend.
Thanks for teaching us good multiplatform code :)

pl0xz0rz says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:39pm

Good graphics. As of everything else, not that good.

Ace says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:50pm

A bit of polish would be needed, yes, still an okay game though.
I like that you just stuck a golden goat in there, it's way too easy to get to gaze upon it's glory though.

GFM says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:01pm

I found the way to select the lasers a little troblesome... Maybe if I could just press 1,2,3 to select them...

Nice short game!

Faust says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:45pm

Nice short game, the goat is really cute. :)

Rex Peppers says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:53pm

Mac version?

DST says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:26pm

Rex Peppers, the Windows version works in Wine on Mac :)

Fonserbc says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:26pm

Nice game!

I found on the windows version that replacing the window on the screen makes the window go black except for the cursor.

lorancou says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:37pm

Well that was short but nice. Shiny goat indeed!

Drabiter says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:35am

I'm on linux Mint 14 and got this from x64 bin: "error while loading shared libraries: libSDL_mixer-1.2.so.0: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory" and this "Error of failed request: GLXBadLargeRequest" from x86 bin.

filtoid says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:50am

Nice - liked it - there is indeed a very rewarding goat.

sanderman says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:53pm

Nice and simple game. I like the fact you need to 'lure' the gun towards one side to be able to hit the other side, though this makes hitting near the middle rather difficult. Polish that mechanic to make it more fun.

Selecting sats is a bit of a chore. Hotkeys on the num bar or cycling though them would work well.

arch.jslin says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:31pm

Oooooohhh, golden goat!

DST says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:17pm

Drabiter I'm sorry, you need to install the libsdl-mixer package for it to work, might be more of the libsdl packages that you need.

Cyboot says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:22pm

The goat is really cool :)

The game, well its ok. The graphics are great (3D in 48h, not bad), but its not so much fun to play as you have almost nothing to do.
But nevertheless good job!

Tifu says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:06pm

It's like Missile Defence in reverse :D

singpolyma says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:38pm

I will try this later when I'm on my beefier system. It's too slow on my laptop :)

Benjamin says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:47pm

Nice gameplay, Satellite and town selecion is sometime a bit messy. Maybe red flash would have help to figure out that the sat is unavailable. +1 Humor for the let me go button :)

BrothersT says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 4:44pm

Haha, short but sweet. Congrats for not trying to force hours of gameplay out of it.

ceronman says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 4:53pm

Nice game. Controls could be improved, specially laser selection. Nice Graphics and sound.

Freakill says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 5:21pm

Thanks for the siny goat! ;)Too short. I really like the ideas of classic games reverted so now we are the bad guys and we play against what we used to incarnate when playing :D The graphics are nice, but missed many more levels and difficulties :P

Dec 28, 2012 @ 2:27am

Interesting gameplay.
If it was tightened up it could be super fun!

schnerble says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 3:45pm

Quite cool - a sort of anti-missile-command game. It's a bit easy to win, and with only one level it's over pretty quickly, but it was fun while it lasted :)

Aslai says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 11:27pm

It was fun to trick the turret in to looking the other direction =p

I recommend you use jpeg for noisy textures in the future. You would easily save 20 MB if you did.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]