December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Villains of Milk and Madness

by comrad_gremlin - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are Duck Bill, an evil duckbill, mistreated by humanity, out to seek revenge by destroying earth's milk supplies. You need to complete objectives to win the game.

Interact with tiles, accumulating your wealth and strike a crushing blow against earth's milk industry. Steal milk from houses, get money by robbing banks, regenerate at hospitals, increase damage at fight club and work out by increasing your toughness at the gym.

Controls are simple:

Arrow keys - look around the map
WASD - move
space - interact with current tile
O - see current objective
M - minimap

Important Objectives that will lead you to winning the game:
Get a car - there's a single car dealership on the map. Gotta look for it.
Find a vaporizer base - one on a map, look for it.
Destroy farms - 3 farms total.
Destroy factories - 2 factories total.

Learned java from TheCherno (http://www.youtube.com/user/TheChernoProject) <- check out his tutorials, he's pretty cool.

Font used: bitstream vera, http://www.fontsquirrel.com/fonts/list/style/Monospaced

The game requires Java Runtime Environment. (http://www.oracle.com/technetwork/java/javase/downloads/jre7-downloads-1880261.html)

Best wishes, Vladimir

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#164Humor3.13
#247Innovation3.12
#418Overall2.88
#470Theme2.96
#520Audio1.81
#543Graphics2.46
#553Mood2.42
#612Fun2.28

Comments

Dec 16, 2012 @ 9:09pm

A small followup / walkthrough at the beinning: you have health on top,

You walk from tile to tile to get resources (press space to interact with the tile),

for example, you have 1 health at the start. The objective says: get 5 milk. You need to go from house to house, press space and gather 5 liters of milk that way.

Then, your hp increases. Now you need to rob banks (by walking over the bank tile and pressing space, damaging the bank and eventually dropping it's hp to 0 and getting money), then restore health at the hospital. Etc, etc :)

Good luck!

loren says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:30pm

Nice world size, I liked the game :)

Crimsoneer says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:40pm

Interesting game, but didn't really have that much fun...nice concept though! And pretty. Would have liked music.

Mythalore says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:40pm

Nice RPG like thing, not really on theme, though.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:43pm

Fun little game, and I like the concept. :)

Schwiggy says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:44pm

Good blending of the theme and humor. It feels good to be a powerful duck in the world :P

SonnyBone says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:54pm

I love the title screen and name of the game. The gameplay could use some tuning up, and the way the text wraps around is a bit confusing at first. I think I found a glitch, though. I was told I got money but I stayed at $0. Could no longer get milk, either.

mrspeaker says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:20pm

Not on theme? You're stealing all the milk. ALL THE MILK! I so did love this harrowing tale, of milk and madness. Jolly good show!

KhaoTom says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:23pm

Humanity is doomed! Interesting little rpg here with a funny premise. Good!

Mago says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:35pm

Good and fairly deep game. I really like game main concept. Good work
Too bad there is no sound in game but I love the voice acting on title screen :)

Tapestry says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:37am

Great job, had fun playing! I really liked the "level up" system, where you get stronger by gathering resources. Also, Duck Bills hat was really awesome.

Jeremias says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:29pm

Nice opening audio ^^. You should improve the milk-gaining gameplay, so that the player must not browsing brainless through the map for gaining milk. I hope you continue and make a post-compo version.

ceronman says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 4:56pm

I couldn't play this game on linux :(

Atomic says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 5:18pm

I like the humor and the narration but the gameplay is waaay too much on the grinding side. 300 milk for the vaporizer?!?

Dec 21, 2012 @ 7:56pm

Hi guys!

Thank you for the comments: any kind of feedback is appreciated.

@ceronman: did you get some kind of an error? Or it just did not launch?

@Atomic: destroying milk farms gives you 80+ milk, as well as policemen, who get stronger with time :) I agree that it was my slip-up though, should have documented that.

nilstastic says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:22pm

Good: Fun!
Improve: Audio would be nice :)

ceronman says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 12:13am

comrad_gremlin: I was able to play it now on windows. Nice game!

Spelchan says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 8:12am

Liked the concept but found the controls too sensitive. I would often move multiple steps with a single keypress and messages didn't display long enough for me to read. Need to make things clearer at the beginning as I died immediately when I attacked a police station. Still, with a bit of work you would have a fairly interesting game.

SuperDisk says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 10:25pm

This is probably one of my favorites. The graphics and the gameplay were quite funny. When do all the police show up though? Once that happens you're guaranteed to lose.

Dec 26, 2012 @ 2:38pm

Thanks for the feedback guys!

@SuperDisk: The policemen appear after 150 actions (movement and space presses). By that time, ideally, you have around 3 damage and close to 4 hitpoints. You can't kill them, but you can withstand one hit, so the idea was to keep avoiding them. Once you continue getting stronger from Gyms and Fight clubs - it won't be much of a problem. I do recognize now that I should have documented it better. Thanks for the kind feedback, I appreciate it.

goerp says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 2:56pm

Funny character you created. The scenario is pretty wacky.
Having quests was a good idea I think. I played for some time.
It could use some more sounds and music, but other than that: good game.

KevinWorkman says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 3:17am

I thought I got the same glitch as SonnyBone, but I realized that we're both just midunderstanding the message. I thought I received 10 dollars for drinking the milk, when in fact the message is saying "now go get 10 dollars" by robbing banks. Once I realized that, the game worked great.

By the way, if you're looking for a better host than dropbox, you might check out the free Java hosting I offer at http://StaticVoidGames.com. Either way, nice work!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]