December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Greed

by Tate - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my first ever game! Very proud of it, even though it's basic in nature. I had a game planned out for making you the enemy in the beginning, but my limitations in knowledge held back a lot of the features so it kind of turned into this.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1102Coolness17%

Comments

Mieville says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:05am

Nice reminded me of snake, twitch controls with it getting harder and harder very quickly.

Tate says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:00pm

Thanks Mieville. That's actually the exact control scheme I was going for. I was thinking that if you are running, you can't do a complete 180. Even after adding collisions with walls, I decided to keep it that way because it increased the difficulty level quite a bit :)

jerrre says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:35am

Needs Java 7

Tate says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:53pm

Ya jerrre, near then end when I was trying to implement sounds... I noticed that Java7 would have made life a whole lot easier. I don't think I would have had enough time to learn what I needed to implement it though. I was basically learning new parts of java the whole time as it was since this is my first game/app outside of school. Thanks for the comment though :)

raincole says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 5:02am

The GUI should be above game entities so that we can always see it.

caranha says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 5:06am

Problem with Windows build:

Cannot find the main class: Greed.Greed

uwap says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 4:05am

Exception in thread "main" java.lang.ExceptionInInitializerError
at Greed.Greed.<init>(Greed.java:23)
at Greed.Greed.main(Greed.java:29)
Caused by: java.lang.IllegalArgumentException: Invalid format
at org.classpath.icedtea.pulseaudio.PulseAudioDataLine.createStream(PulseAudioDataLine.java:142)
at org.classpath.icedtea.pulseaudio.PulseAudioDataLine.open(PulseAudioDataLine.java:99)
at org.classpath.icedtea.pulseaudio.PulseAudioDataLine.open(PulseAudioDataLine.java:283)
at org.classpath.icedtea.pulseaudio.PulseAudioClip.open(PulseAudioClip.java:402)
at org.classpath.icedtea.pulseaudio.PulseAudioClip.open(PulseAudioClip.java:453)
at Greed.SoundEffects.<init>(SoundEffects.java:40)
at Greed.SoundEffects.<clinit>(SoundEffects.java:17)
... 2 more

Does completely crash on startup...

Tate says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 7:41pm

Sorry all, something seems to have happened to the jar file... which I'm not sure what since I haven't modified it since the compo completed (and it worked fine then). I'll look this over and probably just repackage and upload it again later.

Tate says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 8:07pm

ok... it looks like a java update was all that was required for me to get it working on my two test computers. You can get it here and it should work fine afterwards: http://java.com/en/download/windows_offline.jsp

Fififox says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 10:12pm

Very basic but neat little game.

Think about putting a README file telling people to press enter... it wasn't obvious and I nearly thought the game had a bug which caused it not to get past the start screen. ;)

frosty says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 10:53pm

This is a really good entry, considering it was your first game. Congrats! =)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]