December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

RPS Battle

by LogiQ121 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Rock beats Scissors, Scissors beats Paper, & Paper beats Rock... But wait there's more.

React too slow and you'll be dead before you know it.

Also, selecting the same attack can lead to some interesting battles.

RPS Battle is a 2 Player Reaction Based Fighting Game. Instant kills & and drawn out battles can both be had in this game of quick wits and even faster fingers.

EDIT: I changed the control Scheme so that it's more accessible to people w/o numpads.

****NOTE****
Some users are reporting that AVG & Avast are reporting my entry as malware. I just recently updated the build to take care of that issue.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#384Audio2.37
#446Graphics2.75
#485Humor2.18
#529Fun2.50
#587Innovation2.40
#620Overall2.50
#664Mood2.13
#764Theme1.47

Comments

loren says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:40am

Missing platforms, unable to play :(

raincole says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:41am

good screenshots, but where is your game?

Falkreon says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:58am

The game's missing! Please add links to your entry :/

LogiQ121 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:04am

Just fixed the links. Thanks for the heads up

Jezzamon says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:16am

Web?????

Crowbeak says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:20am

This might be nicer with a second person, but even then I think I would get bored of it quickly.

apophenia says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:22am

Fun little game. Kinda difficult to rate since I was pretending to play against myself, but I think I got the gist. I wish the sprites were a bit bigger, though... the animations weren't half bad, but the occupied such a small portion of the screen.

myachin says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:41am

unable to play too(

Razion says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:14am

For how simple it is, this game is stylish and fun. Just spent 5 minutes playing it with my girlfriend.

Skyshifter says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:14am

Seems fun but i cant play becose using a laptop :(

ddionisio says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:51am

I thought I was kicking ass, then I realized it's a two player game...

Devenger says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:43pm

Uhh, what does this have to do with the theme exactly?

SunnyCode says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:47pm

detected as malware

Pixelbear says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:48pm

Nice quirky graphics style with simple gameplay. Nice! :)

LogiQ121 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:02am

Devenger: Lack of time forced me to sacrifice the theme in order to make the game complete.

Sunny Code: I looked up your issue to see what could be wrong. This is the only thing I could find on it: http://www.clickteam.com/epicenter/ubbthreads.php?ubb=showflat&Number=202492

Bensonance says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:45pm

The game is great, but it doesn't match up to the theme very well :/.

caranha says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:02am

Avast is reporting your game :-(

Digiraze says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:33pm

Sorry dude, AVG is also reporting your game. =(

master4523 says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:35pm

I can't explain why but I loved the music from the main menu!
Graphics are ok, sound effects too. I liked the idea of mashing the button if both players choose the same action. Controls are a bit confusing the first you play.
Fun game if you have somebody else to play with, not really in correlation with the theme though.

zkenshin says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:47am

Sorry but again AVG reported your game. :(

caranha says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 3:55am

The graphics are not bad, I like the grass. I also like the RPS battle idea. But there are a few problems in the execution of the game:

1- The music is a bit cringe-worthy, maybe you should use different samples?

2- The controls do not correspond to what is on the screen. In my computer, "S" corresponded to paper, and I couldn't find the action button (got stuck at every draw battle".

3- I only played against myself, but I wonder if because your choice appears as soon as you press the button, and it can't be changed later, then the person who press first will always lose? Maybe you should have a timer that if both players don't choose by the end of the timer, something bad happens to them, and allow free changes before that?

Cheers!

goerp says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 2:44pm

I didn't get it. Was I playing against myself?
Looks good though, and I like the weird sounds of your music.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]