December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Goombah!

by johndb - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my first ever Ludum Dare entry, submitting on Saturday evening because I only had about 10 hours to work on a game this weekend. I set my target firmly in the "achievable" range, and am pretty happy with this result.

Used Flashpunk, Gimp, and bfxr.

Edit 12/16: Added background music generated using GreaseMonkey's awesome Autotracker-Bu. Adjusted sound volumes because Ow, My Ears.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#162Theme3.67
#266Fun3.06
#272Humor2.81
#273Audio2.69
#379Mood2.75
#380Innovation2.82
#387Overall2.94
#577Graphics2.36

Comments

PAMVllo says ...
Dec 16, 2012 @ 4:20am

Nice Game idea! is really funny

dasBente says ...
Dec 16, 2012 @ 12:13pm

I really like this idea :D

RyanArcher says ...
Dec 16, 2012 @ 2:45pm

Very fun game :)

scriptblocks says ...
Dec 16, 2012 @ 5:11pm

I like it!

Nsmurf says ...
Dec 16, 2012 @ 11:31pm

Nice idea! Could use some better (original?) art. Or would that be against the rules? Anyways, great idea, but the implementation could be better.

apophenia says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:03am

Cute!

Nolan C says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:16am

Should have known someone was going to do this. It was actually very well done though, nice work.

loren says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:57pm

fun music! Love how scared the goomba looks, nice job :)

Rabbits... says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:52am

Fun little game, my goomba owned for a while, then was struck down by a misc. jumping man...

MrEvilGuy says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:53am

It's interesting trying to time the approach right to kill them without being jumped on. Only problem is that they still kill you from the side if they're falling. They should only kill if they hit the top of you!

dek says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:28pm

Neat idea, fun gameplay :)

Hume says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:02pm

Awesome. Now level me up to a Koopa!

I sort of expected to hear the Mario death music when I figured out I could actually knock off the jumping men

jackspinoza says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 12:43am

pretty funky I must admit. Really liked your take on the theme. I was a bit susceptible to death though,

Andrey Pradun says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 3:13am

Great job for first entry

rylgh says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:44am

elegant, simple, and fun, with a nice interpretation of the theme... very nice job man

cdata says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:55am

Man, it is tough being a goomba. I love the simple inversion of this classic game idea. It would be nice if the movements of the "good guys" were a little less predictable, but it was still challenging regardless.

johndb says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 12:31pm

Thanks to everyone for the great feedback! This is the first time I've brought a game to even this level of completion, and released it for "the world" to see. It has been an awesome experience, and I am sure that I will be in for another ludum dare in the future...

@cdata: In my original concept, the life of a goomba was even worse - he sat on a platform three bricks wide waiting for five minutes for the one jumping man to come along. This, I think, works better.

Edocentrique says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 3:59pm

Cool game !

Mase says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 4:34pm

There's a lot of empty space. . . I think a happy cloud would improve the graphics immensely, and balance the feeling of inevitable doom.

saguaro says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 5:46pm

I like games that explore the problems of being a minion. This little guy works hard at a life-threatening occupation, and for what? I guarantee you he doesn't get 401k matching. His benefits are crap, and they probably don't even have a decent severance package either. There's no Goombah union.

Eniko says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 6:43pm

Very good for the time invested. It's kinda funny being a goomba. Also, at some points the game has a very nice flow of back tracking then charging to kill the plumbers, but it's also dangerous because of squishing danger, so quite fun.

cwilloughby says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 9:03pm

Great first entry. Keep it up!

wally2069 says ...
Dec 31, 2012 @ 5:11am

Neat little flash game that has some decent polish.

OU GDA says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 6:27pm

Fun arcadey game. the speed difference between the jumping men and the goomba bothered me though. It made dodging to the right nearly impossible, decreasing the number of strategies the player can use. For an interesting variant, you could have levels with an increasing number of jumping men that you have to take out, but the almost inverted running style is fun as well.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]