December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Notoriety

by TheMelon - Jam Entry

Notoriety is a attempt at making a slightly ambitious strategy game. Our first Game Jam game! Built in Unity.

We plan to continue development, so look for a post-ludum version soon.


Note: ALOT of balancing and optimization is needed, core mechanics are playable. There are some bugs here and there.

INSTRUCTIONS : Threaten cities and make demands. Use the funds to fire your weapons. Be careful what you shoot and who you shoot. Cities will invest in military and send ships and rockets if they feel too threaten. Kill the population and they will cease to function.

Your notoriety will give your threats weight, but it will also put you at risk of attack.

Created by Trent Naylor & Roman Kovalik

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#32Theme(Jam)3.96
#50Innovation(Jam)3.48
#88Graphics(Jam)3.70
#104Humor(Jam)2.94
#107Mood(Jam)3.09
#142Audio(Jam)2.95
#163Overall(Jam)3.00
#194Fun(Jam)2.68
#810Coolness44%

Comments

newton64 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:24am

Really nifty little game; with some UI polish it could really get going.
* Health usually counts down; you could make that bar a Damage bar, which would naturally make you blow up when full.
* I like how New York and Paris are cities, as well as California ;) (maybe San Francisco could work).
* I wasn't fully clear what money was used for at first; I know the info's right there, but it didn't grab my attention at first; again, some UI tweaks there.
* Also, feedback on how cities will/won't react to your threats could be cool (a la Civ), but that's just a bonus.

TheMelon says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:55am

Thanks for your feedback! The UI does need a major overall as its a crucial element. We plan to give more player information like you mentioned for sure.

arch.jslin says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:57pm

The viewpoint of the game is new, and the orbital scenery is fantastic, but I hope the game mechanics can be more clearer (for a strategy game) :) It like after I build certain notority through obliterate a small city and get some ransom, I can just walk around asking for money without doing anything else.

mutuware says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:37pm

You seem to be able to play on even after you die. Fiendish!
Great idea though.

ahnt says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:38pm

I had trouble with the UI, while obvious didn't seam elegant, otherwise a nice game, I wish it had way more weapons and way more cities

Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:39pm

Finally,, a world-domination-simulator other than my own!

Needless to say I love the idea :D. The space-station view is great, and the music adds a nice eerie feel.

Chinchilla says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:43pm

Very cool presentation and interpretation of the theme. Would have liked to have a better idea of what my goals were and how I was doing. But pretty cool overall, nice moody music too!

har_g says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:46pm

I don't understand the complete gameplay, because after shooting one, i can threat in loop. and have infinite money and shoot what i want. But i like the visual :) (i think i will like all the game where you see our world from space)

angrygeometry says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:50am

there was a really nice ominous mood to this. i liked it.

Codexus says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:20pm

Cool game, I got impatient when they all paid so I vaporized them anyway! :D

LTyrosine says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 5:00pm

Nice one, amazing innovative, bit confusing GUI but very nice idea and execution.

Yakka says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 9:50am

Pretty game with great music, I felt so evil! But I couldn't launch missiles on cities :-(

galman says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 8:15pm

Nice overall idea! With some more polish and UI it could be a really awesome game :)

TheMelon says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 9:28am

Thanks for the feedback so far. @Yakka - Only an Anti-Missile weapon so far which is enabled when cities fire missiles at you. Don't worry you'll be able to drop the bombs very soon.

UI was just a place holder, hopefully something better soon.

lotusgame says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 2:57pm

Very nice simulation. Graphics are awesome ! Well done

schnerble says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 3:01pm

Great work! It's a very satisfying feeling to be orbiting the Earth and holding powerful weapons pointed at the surface ;) There didn't seem to be a lot of warning as to when cities would retaliate - or pre-emptive strike, maybe? - but it's a very good entry.

Jan 6, 2013 @ 10:45pm

Nice entry!
It was a bit confusing though, and the mix between mouse controls (UI) and keyboard is not exactly optimal.

A piece of advice: When your game requires both hands to be on the keyboard (e.g: using directional keys to move and F/C as fire and camera buttons) you can't expect the player to also use the mouse. We only have two hands and switching the right hand between keyboard and mouse is not efficient for a game.
That's why FPS games corner all the keyboard controls in the left side of the keyboard, so you only need the left hand on the keyboard, leaving the right hand free for mouse action. Yes, it doesn't account for left-handed people but it shows how to properly implement keyboard+mouse controls (keyboard can be used with just one hand while the other is in the mouse). You can solve the left-handed issue by mapping the keyboard actions to keys on the right-side of the keyboard as well.
Graphics are fairly decent (some are great) and music is certainly quite "villanous".

Well, congratulations on your first jam game. It's -despite its minor flaws- a nice and challenging game! :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]