December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Subordination Day

by gilesa - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Subordination Day

Destroy the humans.


A HTML5 game built using the gamejs library.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#245Theme3.47
#478Innovation2.62
#514Humor2.08
#543Graphics2.46
#579Fun2.36
#617Audio1.12
#624Mood2.26
#632Overall2.47

Comments

Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:41am

I like the idea. It could make for a good game with more time put into it.

CoffeeOnimal says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:46am

I like the nod to the movie. Movement is a bit sluggish, maybe that was the intention. Good job.

enfyrneaux says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:45am

The graphics might be simple, but there's something about the art style that I like.

ArkadyDracul says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:15am

Very very simple and fast to understand :D Good Job

Xymostech says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:23am

I was confused at first about what killed me (only getting hit in the white spot kills you), but other than that it was pretty fun.

lotusgame says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:36am

Like the idea.
Movemments are just to slow !
Movie hint is very funny :)
Hope you can get a new version out with more time !

Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:27am

Like the idea. Needs a lot of work, but there's a neat little arcade style game here, I think. As it is I'd see this as pure prototype that warrants additional work.

Prelucid says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:20am

Nice

ParaPup says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:01am

Nice game seems a bit empty but I like the Idea.

dvdking says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:12pm

It was very confusing at first, I really couldn't understand why couldn't I destroy planes with laser.

Smaxx says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:33pm

Minimalistic... but it works. Someone being a fan of ID4 I guess. Took be some time to figure out I can't shoot down the planes, though.

BlockBrains says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:47pm

You have to " commit suicide" a couple of times to understand how you can kill and avoid :)

rasmusrn says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:56pm

I like the idea - but the game needs some polish to be really.

I know this might be due to time constraints, but I could help asking myself:
- Why can't I shoot the aircraft?
- Why are they acting like kamikaze pilots?

robashton says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:14pm

Good idea, I wish there were explosions like in the film and it was a bit difficult to actually blow things up on account of those dastardly planes

lorancou says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:47pm

Small game, misses a bit of more stuff.

fishbrain says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:32pm

Nice clean graphics.

1CoinTeam says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:26pm

Mmmm... confusing

michax says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:07pm

Needed a little time to figure things out. But in the end i got it :) Spaceship could be a little faster and maybe continously working laser would be more funt to use.
Anyway, congratulation on finishing compo!

AdricZero says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 3:28pm

I thought the city specific landmarks were a great touch and chuckled. I found it difficult to evade the jets and wished I could defend my ship against them. Liked it overall.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]