December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

You're the Boss!

by Claite - Jam Entry

NOTE!!!!! When you lose all your health, the game closes. I apologize but there wasn't time to put in a "You Lose" menu / text. The game isn't crashing, it's just closing out when you lose. Again, I apologize for the inconvenience. It only really struck me after the deadline that programmers will see this as a bug.


You're the Boss!
By Claite and Rebekah
The true villain of the every day working (wo)man! You want to put as much stress on your workers without getting reported to your superiors!

Game Goal:
Reach the required points to move on to the next level! Try to get the best time! To get the most points, make sure all your works are at the highest work load (red)! Be careful! If they have too little, they'll start complimenting you.

How to play:
W - up
A - left
S - down
D - right
J - Give work.
Giving work to a worker increases their work load. This gives you more points! But be careful, too much work and they get angry, and they'll report you!
K - Shout!
Shout at workers that are slacking off! (Spinning). But be careful, shouting at someone that isn't slacking off makes them angry, and they report you!



Good luck!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#136Innovation(Jam)3.00
#148Humor(Jam)2.67
#171Theme(Jam)3.26
#203Fun(Jam)2.63
#242Overall(Jam)2.70
#242Audio(Jam)1.93
#257Mood(Jam)2.42
#291Graphics(Jam)2.26
#831Coolness41%

Comments

Cell says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:12pm

Cool, i liked it :)

Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:45am

main.ogg is one of the neatest songs I've heard in a while! I would put it in my regular rotation!

Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:46am

lol, sorry I was looking at the wrong page when I wrote about main.ogg. :)

Claite says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:16am

I was so confused recursive. haha

Gazok says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:19am

Original idea - I like it. Found a bug, though. If you shout at a worker who's reported you, if crashes.

killmonday says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:42pm

Finally a game where I can be.. THE BOSS! Great game, it made me angry when I saw some slacking going on

Claite says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:32pm

Gazok, are you sure you didn't just run out of health? Due to the awesome nature of the game, when you run out of health, the game ends (closes).

In retrospect, I should have shown "You lose" :|

psychopsam says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:28am

It crashed three times before I stopped playing (Win7/64Bit)however I can see it to be a great Diner Dash style game. I over-worked one guy and he threatened to report me :D Basic sound but fitting. Needed some more monotonous sounds to fit the mood. Nice one!

Faust says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:51am

Cool idea, I think all employees can understand what you're talking about. BTW, when I get reported 3 times, the game simply closes without warning.

Claite says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:58am

Hey all, I put a note at the top of the post explaining why it closes. There wasn't a "You lose" scenario built in. Totally escaped my mind. Keep track of your health by the "Money" at the top. If you run out of "money", you lose, and the game closes.

Apologies :\

Mythalore says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:19am

Seems to crash after a minute, but the concept is really cool.

master4523 says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:20pm

The "game close" ending was a bit confusing the first time but then I saw your note :)
Do not forget to add a fullscreen mode on your next games, this one was slightly too large on my laptop but it did fit perfectly on my other computer.
I had a lot of fun shouting at those lazy workers, giving them more work... man, I feel bad now.
Cool game, liked it.

Gazok says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:11pm

@Claite yeah, that's it I think. At least it's not a crash :P

Alex Rose says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:19am

Fun idea, but a bit too easy I think. It seems like I can just go round putting everyone's computer on red and that solves everything and has no downside.

But, it was a really excellent take on the idea. Nice one.

Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:35am

It was quite enjoyable for the short while it lasted... The game crashed on the second level for some reason, but nice idea ;)

Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:02pm

Nice take on the theme, but the game crashed after a while.

Starspell says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 11:12pm

I can't run it. It can't seem to find YoureTheBossGame file.

I'll try again later on a different computer.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]