December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Doomsday Defense

by unpronounceable - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A tower defense style game. Highlight guns by moving the mouse over them. Press up, W, or 8 on the numpad to transfer energy from your fortress to the highlighted gun. Press down, S, or 2 on the numpad to transfer energy from your highlighted gun to your fortress. When the volcano is smoking left click to fire a bomb at that spot. The more energy your fortress has the quicker you win, but the more energy your guns have the faster they shoot.

Have had some people who couldn't get the game to load, the preloader was stuck at 0. If you have this problem try the Flash Basic version.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#256Audio2.75
#358Fun2.85
#362Innovation2.88
#397Overall2.92
#629Graphics2.19
#658Mood2.15
#688Humor1.50
#698Theme2.16

Comments

Idovoodoo says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:12pm

Really enjoyed playing this.
As you said, had to use Flash basic as got stuck at 0% (usng Chrome)

Devenger says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:19pm

Good, simple core idea, well executed. Only significant complaint would be that the game could do with a clearer indicator of how charged the volcano is (colour fading was okay, but something more as well would be better). A pleasant few minutes of villainy - good job.

Casino Jack says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:26pm

Nice variety of enemies (particularly like the ones with the shield that only you can destroy). It's a bit too easy in the beginning though.

Quantumvm says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:29am

Cool game, but I thought it was a little too easy, at least at first, the auto turrets would kill the bad guys long before the got anywhere close to the volcano. Cool game though well done.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:40am

I like the idea of adjusting gun power. Pacing really needs to be tuned though, way too easy for way too long. Keep it up!

iiAtlas says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:04am

Surprisingly fun little game (after getting it to run :/ ).

SunShiranui says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:42pm

The beginning is a bit slow, but the core mechanic is neat. :)

arch.jslin says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:55pm

The power distribution concept is nice, and the volcano ball got neat effects too. I also liked the music. But I feel the game is too slow-paced.

fhoenig says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:30am

Cool, but I agree: too simple. Speed it up!

Per says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:03pm

Nice idea with the power distribution.
It is however not challenging enough for a long time.
It could be a really great game if you develop it further.

galman says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 8:36pm

Hehe, nice game! Took me some time to understand how to play, but when I got it it was really fun :)

lotusgame says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 11:16am

Nice particles effects, nice music, novel gameplay mechanics. I like the energy transfer system. Well done :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]