December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Cat Licker

by Seeminglypointless - Jam Entry

Team of 2, one for music and sound and one for everything else.

Arrow Keys to move, and up and down to lick.

Feel free to check out our other stuff at Seeminglypointless.com

*be warned, the web version runs a tad slower than the Windows version, and loses a few other trivial elements.

Cheers!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#27Humor(Jam)3.65
#147Innovation(Jam)2.94
#154Audio(Jam)2.86
#183Fun(Jam)2.72
#211Overall(Jam)2.81
#246Graphics(Jam)2.63
#247Mood(Jam)2.48
#269Theme(Jam)2.59
#1189Coolness0%

Comments

Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:04am

Hahaha, that's not just seemingly pointless, that's thoroughly and utterly pointless. And hilarious. I love the graphics. The gameplay could use some attention; it doesn't feel like there's much of a challenge to it. Is "Advanced Licker" any good?

loren says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:56pm

accurate tongue animation, nice job!

Atomic says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:28pm

It's funny but gets boring quickly. IMHO not very themeish. Sound's great!

ahmed.majd says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:11pm

humoristic concept

Mase says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:25am

I think this needs a Wii-U version.

Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:20pm

I AM the cat licker! Nice one!

Ludonaut says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:41pm

That is hilarious. Love the idea. This may be my favorite entry so far.

daredevildave says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:14pm

I LOL'd, that was very funny.

iandioch says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 3:45pm

Needs a Kinect version, where you are the tongue and you need to flop about to lick the cats.
Interesting idea. I think you should see a healthcare professional.

jackspinoza says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 9:08pm

My friend used to blow his nose on his cat...
................................................ ok, it was me.

Jan 1, 2013 @ 7:07pm

lol

fishbrain says ...
Jan 2, 2013 @ 10:24am

HAHA!

Kimau says ...
Jan 2, 2013 @ 1:51pm

The mood was just brilliant. Visuals worked and the meowing was ace. I was kinda expecting to start getting all trippy. I wanted the ginger ones to really f**k me up.

See Cat Huffing (it's a big thing, my friend devouts an entire tumblr to it)

wlad says ...
Jan 2, 2013 @ 3:11pm

Perhaps never mainstream-compatible but very funny! I had special abilities and could move the trees. And lick some cats, of course :-)

Jan 2, 2013 @ 7:48pm

Not only seemingly pointless. Pointless for real. Some points for innovation though. I've never seen a cat licking game before.

mcc says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 7:43am

oh dear

azurenimbus says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 9:14pm

Holy shit, what have I just done/witnessed?

Thank you for shattering my innocence.

zenmumbler says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 7:06pm

Wat.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]