December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Noob Reaper

by Retrac - 48 Hour Compo Entry

WASD / Arrow Keys = Basic Movement
LMB = Shoot
RMB = Possess
Space + LMB = Flame Spitter
Space + RMB = Rock Bomb
Backspace = Main Menu
Escape = Controls

Goal: As an evil spirit, cause as much chaos as you can to those poor noobs who are just starting their careers as adventurers! Seasoned champions and priests will try to protect the noobs, but you can beat them, right? Survive the 45 second countdown on each level to progress.

Programs used:
-GameMaker: Studio Pro
- Gimp 2.8

Notes: This is my first time participating in the 48 comp and I am pleased with what I created. Sadly, there is no sound. I'm terrible at making art, but even worse at composing music.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#220Innovation3.17
#290Theme3.39
#313Graphics3.06
#401Fun2.78
#441Overall2.83
#867Coolness39%

Comments

Zathalos says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:49am

Nice job for being your first comp. I found your take on the theme interesting. The time limit creates some frantic fun and the art is not that bad.

ParaPup says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:59pm

Good job for your first LD :3

Alex Rose says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 3:23am

It's an interesting take! Great name and idea - definitely fits the theme!

I didn't really understand how to use the secondary (hold space) weapons, but I had fun with the weapons I had. The villain himself is pretty cool too.

Well done man, keep it up.

vandriver says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:16am

yeah, don't sell yourself short. pixel art is about being iconic, and i immediately recognized what everything was supposed to be, i like the big-head sprites a lot.

the game was pretty fun, and what it could really use is a lemmings-style scan of the stage while paused before it starts, so i can get out of the way of immediately getting shot right off the bat in later levels, or plan my route. when things got hectic, the hold-space swaps while wasd-moving started to get kind of confusing, but i don't really have a suggestion to make it smoother.

Dec 21, 2012 @ 5:34am

Sorry I can't test your game (I'm on Linux). Looks fun!

galman says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 8:52pm

Nice little game :) Had some nice times playing it

Dir3kt says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 7:59pm

Was fun trying each weapon and seeing what they do :)

Doublecaster says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 8:10pm

That was quite fun. You might already had this planned, but it would have been fun if the posessed noobs would attacked the champions. Also the graphics were awesome!

kibertoad says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 8:31pm

Art was OK, game wasn't anything special, but for a first attempt - pretty good! Keep up :).

Rex Peppers says ...
Jan 1, 2013 @ 2:18pm

Can't play windows games :-(

madpew says ...
Jan 1, 2013 @ 6:31pm

great idea, would love to see a polished version of this. needs some sounds

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]